We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL PEOPLE AVOID AT ALL COSTS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area to your Saves list
Super 8 - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1860 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Seabeck, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AWFUL PEOPLE AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Made a reservation through Hotwire for three people. When we arrived they announced we would have to pat extra for two beds. I explained that is why we booked for three. I even had Hotwire call them and they refused to house us, even after we had paid for the room. I got a refund and moved to a much nicer hotel down the road. They are awful people just looking to rip off every poor sap they run into.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else is your only hope
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    28
    33
    41
See reviews for
49
22
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Dirty, old bad service. I have to stay in the South Bay for work during the week and I thought this place would be a good option because of price. I'd rather sleep in my car. I slept on top of the bedding - that's how nasty it was (and I'm not picky). The service was also terrible rude, rude, rude. I will NEVER stay here again. - A King

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonkry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We booked a stay at this hotel under the recommendation of the Winchester Mystery House Tours. While our room looked clean, it smelled of raid. We went to dinner and returned late. Fell asleep and found bugs crawling on us a couple hours later.I cannot emphasize our disgust.
The manager at first tried to say he has never had this happen before, but I was beyond ticked off and I think he knew better. He apologized and offered another room. He admitted that some of his rooms are being treated and he was told this was already taken care of.
Then he offered me 25% off the price, I was unmoved. Told him that was unacceptable. He countered with 50% - I told him the health department will be called. He gave me my room for free.

I will never stay here again. My family and I did not deserve to experience this horrible event. I do not understand the lack of care.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This had to be the worst experience I have had with a motel. I was planning to stay three nights. After the second night, I left. The motel was noisy. I heard toilet flushing, televisions at 1:00 AM to 4:00 AM and conversations. The first night, I was awakened twice, I didn't complain. I thought it was a fluke. The second night I was awakened by five guys in the parking lot, each sparing for dominance in the conversation. I called the motel desk, and got a busy signal twice. I finally yelled out to the guys. When I went to the front desk in person to complain, they essentially accused me of lying about calling the desk. They claimed that they had eight lines and that they all couldn't be busy. I requested for a reduced rate. She said I was already getting a good rate and gave me a $7.50 discount for the first night.

These people need to wake up to the fact that all eight of their lines can be placed on hold, and the front desk employee then can be assured of getting a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Not far from the airport or downtown San Jose, beautiful little rose garden just up the road, very nice to relax in the sun. We arrived a bit early and were told the room wasn't ready, which was fine. Came back when they told us and it still wasn't ready, had to wait another half an hour but it was OK with us but I wouldn't recommend getting here until at least 2.30pm. The rooms are large and clean and there is free internet and a nice pool. We only stayed one night but it was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here one night. It was close to the airport and that was what I was looking for when I booked our room. The room was smelly and the walls paper thin. Our neighbor's woke us up in the middle of the night due to their loud talking. The beds were okay and the bathroom clean. The breakfast was okay - serving cereal, bread, danishes, coffee, and juice. We have come to realize that we will not be booking rooms at any Super 8 as we haven't had good experiences with them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

The room was pretty clean, but we had to ask 3 times for them to have the people below us turn off their music or tv. It was about 12:00 pm when they finally did something about it for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area

Address: 1860 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area Hotel San Jose
Super 8 San Jose
Super Eight San Jose
San Jose Super Eight
San Jose Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.