We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorpark Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moorpark Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorpark Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4241 Moorpark Blvd, San Jose, CA 95129   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 72 hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very, very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I needed a nice, clean, safe place to stay in San Jose where I attended my 45 year class reunion, which was at a classmates home in The Rose Garden district. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. I stayed on the third level, which offers many freebies not available to the other floors. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was divine. The staff were all friendly and helpful. My ONLY issue was that one of the window shutters would not close and my room faced East, so Good Morning sun in the yes. No big deal, I needed to get up anyway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Moorpark Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you again.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    96
    36
    7
    8
See reviews for
54
69
30
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My son, an Apple employee (mothers used to brag about their son-the-doctor), recommended this hotel as well as another in the chain as one used by people doing business with him and his coworkers. I joined the Joie de Vivre affinity group and received immediate benefits which discounted and upgraded my reservation. The location is convenient and we were able to park with no problem. Lobby, bar, pool are very well designed and decorated. Rooms are comfortable and well maintained. Amenities include well stocked mini-bar, breakfast buffet, and for concierge level, a glass of nice house wine or a beer in the evening. The breakfast buffet includes Asian items and it's always enjoyable to try something different. Staff was professional and knowledgeable. We had a great time and will use this hotel as well as other locations, specifically in San Francisco, in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Moorpark Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We wanted to visit Santana Row for my Husband's birthday & decided to stay here after the reviews, and we are so glad we did. Very lovely boutique hotel with a great staff from checking in til checking out. Nice bar/restaurant & a nice pool area with comfy chaises. The rooms are very clean & nice decor (loved the pillows).. Everyone was very helpful & pleasant. It will definitely be our hotel of choice for our next visit to the area. Highly recommend visiting this hotel when in the area.
We generally stay at chains (primarily for the points), so this was a wonderful change of pace for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Moorpark Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello,

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. I am delighted you had a good experience. Thank you again.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

After reading some of the previous reviews we got the impression that this is a real luxury hotel.
Well.. it is not. It is a motel, a very standard one. The friendly staff and the cookies cannot change the fact that it is located in an ugly part of town, away from all other hotels, restaurants, museums.
The rooms are standard motel rooms. There is nothing modern about this hotel. Not sure why anyone would stay here when downtown San Jose and the surrounding town have a huge selection of much better hotels at similar prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Moorpark Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Moorpark Hotel. Your comments are very important to us to help us improve our standards of quality and service.

I am sorry our location was not ideal for your needs, and I truly appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you again for your feedback.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for a few days as part of our California vacation. She relaxed by the pool while I visited the Pebble Beach Concours and took in a side trip to Lick Observatory. The hotel is in a nice location with restaurants and shopping nearby.
It was clean, comfortable, the staff very friendly and quiet. Can't ask for much more. Nice touch is a pool table on the second floor.

The breakfast is overpriced for my southern experiences. Might be about right for California as things are a little more expensive there. The IHOP is nearby so we ate there. I was surprised to find the counter top and refrigerator stocked with snacks that will cost if you partake. I had to ask the staff for a price list and it wasn't cheap. I haven't seen a hotel do that in years.

I wish I had his name so I could thank him personally but the young gentleman behind the front desk when I checked out gave our trip an unexpected pleasure. I told him that we were going to Fisherman's wharf in SF and asked if I should use GPS or did he know a route with less traffic. He was adamant that we see twin peaks on our way and made sure I didn't leave without his written directions. I brushed it off for a few minutes then decided to listen to his advice. WOW! What a view of San Francisco. Thank you so much!!!!

To sum it up, A+ staff, very clean and comfy and a great value for the area. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York,NY
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We checked in late at night. Gloria checked us in and was very professional and friendly. Beautiful, modern, clean lobby. Rooms were nice, modern and nice as well. Our room overlooked the pool and cabanas. Overall experience is def worth 4 stars and would stay here again. Location is a little out the way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July after dropping my daughter and a friend off at camp in the Santa Cruz mountains. It's very convenient as you can reach it directly down from Highway 9 off Skyline (beautiful drive) if you are coming from the Santa Cruz mountains. Otherwise, it's even more convenient as it's right off an exit on Hwy 280. It's nicely furnished with kind of an Asian flair, very comfortable bed, and nice sitting area. Plus, if you are a jdv member (easy to sign up), you get a split of your choice of wine or other welcome gift. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moorpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorpark Hotel

Address: 4241 Moorpark Blvd, San Jose, CA 95129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moorpark Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorpark Hotel features a contemporary clubby design, highlighted by neo-traditional stylings and tailored details. Special features include a billiards loft, heated pool, hot tub, spacious fitness center, business center, conference facilities, and a VIP club level with exclusive services and amenities. The Park Bar & Grill opens to the hotel's sunny courtyard and serves relaxed American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Moorpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorpark Hotel San Jose
Moorpark San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorpark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.