We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but find another restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moorpark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moorpark Hotel to your Saves list
Moorpark Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4241 Moorpark Blvd, San Jose, CA 95129   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but find another restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I spent one night at this hotel on a recent business trip. The hotel is very nice and conveniently located. The room was clean and relatively quiet. I would not recomment the restaurant, as the service does not appear to be very prompt.

Room Tip: This hotel is relatively small, so a room above the first floor is a wise choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    98
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
71
31
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a fantasic hotel for business or personal stays in the San Jose area. It's small a quaint, the staff treats you like part of the family. The rooms are spacious, clean and up to date. The bar and resturant are small, food and service are excellent. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. This hotel was a welcome after a long day travel up the California coast from Hearst Castle. The front desk staff was wonderful and very helpful. We got a quick way to get to the airport the next day without taking the freeway. The rooms were spacious and very nicely appointed. Great toiletries. Clean. Nice added touches. The breakfast was extensive and had a nice view of the pool. It was within walking distance to places to eat for dinner so there was no need to get into a car and drive. I love this hotel! I wish there were more reasons for me to come to San Jose. If I do, I know where I am staying!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Moorpark Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello,

On behalf of all of us at the Moorpark Hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team as I know they will appreciate receiving your feedback as well. I am glad we met your expectations during your visit with us.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on the 3rd floor (Club Rooms) so you got Cookies and Milk at night, free breakfast and also a 'Club Lounge' which is just a chair and a table. The only problem with this was that you needed your key card to get into the floor, this was a problem because when leaving kids to go to the toilet on the ground floor they couldn't get back up to the floor.

We had rooms facing the Parking Area and Restaurant's but never had any noise.

The breakfast was fairly limited and from what I can remember you couldn't get bacon, sausage, waffles etc but there was toast and cereal.

The pool area was very nice with a good size pool and a jacuzzi. The sort of cabins at the side were also a nice touch.

The location was good for food as there were plenty of places to eat nearby and a supermarket.

The pool table always made for a nice end to an evening and it was brilliant quality.

Also a thanks to the Moorpark staff, who gave us a little hamper to say thank you for our long stay :)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Moorpark Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello,

First of all I want to thank you for your recent stay with us. I am very happy to see that we met your expectations and that our staff took good care of you. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was the only "non-generic, non-chain" hotel that accomodated us during our Bay area trip last weekend (me and my wife) and it was a wonderful time. Moorpark hotel is located in a quiet part of a busy commercial area but is quietly and neatly tucked away. It shares a parking lot with Tony Roma's, and is a hop away from Applebee's (food is obviously covered), as well as 2 gas stations (we found very convienient when having to return rental car early next morning). The staff was AMAZING, every single time we passed by the lobby they made sure to say hello, and/or to acknowledge us and make sure we were ok. They also answered questions regarding where to shop, eat and visit in the area. The room was a good size for a 'standard king' , theres a couch and mini sitting area included. Theres a small but adequate business center located on the main floor, a bar that was nice but mostly shut while we were there (a sunday) a billiards/pool table as you get out of the elevator on the second floor (we were in 225), and the best part is the Pool/Hottube area. There are nice cabanas lined up beside the pool, and since the hotel was not busy by any stretch, we enjoyed the outdoor amenities to ourselves :). You're only 5 mins drive from the airport, Westfield Valley Fair mall (a must for shoppers) Downtown SJ, and Santana Row (another must for tourists). They offer a daily breakfast buffet which we never got the opportunity to try out, but it looked great. We enjoyed our one night in San Jose and Moorpark was more than accomodating ! I definitely recommend this to any couples/families looking for a quaint, botique hotel experience that's just moments from the hustle of the city, and not too far from the world-famous San Fran bay. Great times at Moorpark !

Room Tip: Second or Third floors so you can take advantage of the Pool Tables !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Moorpark Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello,

On behalf of all of us at the Moorpark Hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Moorpark Hotel. I am glad we were able to exceed your expectations during your visit with us.

At your service,
Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This out is not a full service we kiss your butt style of hotel. What they do they do right or attempt to anyway! The staff is decent and can help with all of your needs. The hotel has a great pool area and a Billards table on property. This reminds me of a swanky Hugh Hefner kind of place without all of the women. I suggest hitting the bar as the prices are okay but it is always empty.

Relax by the pool and have a martini while you soak up the rays.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Moorpark Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello,

On behalf of all of us at the Moorpark Hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team as I know they will appreciate receiving your feedback as well. I am glad we met your expectations during your visit with us.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This is an okay hotel, in an area that seems questionable. Rooms were good, but mattresses were quite bouncy, so when one person moves, so does the other. Tried to have breakfast, but decided it was not worth the buffet price with so few choices. Went to a nearby McDonalds instead. Nice area upstairs for groups to play pool or watch tv together.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Moorpark Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Moorpark Hotel. Your comments are very important to us to help us improve our standards of quality and service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and make your experience a great one.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorpark Hotel

Address: 4241 Moorpark Blvd, San Jose, CA 95129
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moorpark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorpark Hotel features a contemporary clubby design, highlighted by neo-traditional stylings and tailored details. Special features include a billiards loft, heated pool, hot tub, spacious fitness center, business center, conference facilities, and a VIP club level with exclusive services and amenities. The Park Bar & Grill opens to the hotel's sunny courtyard and serves relaxed American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moorpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorpark Hotel San Jose
Moorpark San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorpark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.