We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, unusual location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Old Tully Road, San Jose, CA 95111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 72 hotels in San Jose
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice hotel, unusual location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2006

This Hampton Inn hotel is a nice, modern hotel in an unusual location. It is off the beaten path though happened to be convenient for my purpose. The rooms are large and clean. My main complaint would be that you can hear conversation, TVs and loud plumbing from the rooms around you. The Continental breakfast is convenient and nice if you arrive early but may be a bit stale at a later hour. A nice enough hotel for a traveler but certainly not a destination resort type hotel. You could probably find a hotel with a better location.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    63
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
59
22
11
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

I like Hampton hotels overall, but this one did not measure up. It is in an off location, in the vicinity of warehouses, and adjacet to a public storage facilities. While the rooms are clean, the plumbing system is pretty awakward. I woke several times as a result of flushing in the neighboring rooms. You can also hear people walking above you.

Will I stay here again? probably not.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2005

We generally like Hampton Inns, but this one was head and shoulders above the rest. We had a HUGE room (a suite reallyl) with a very comfortable king size bed. There was a separate living room with pullout bed, a small kitchen, dining area, and large bathroom. Everything was spotless. The Wi-Fi access worked just fine.

We were there on a Friday night, and it was very quiet. In common with other reviewers, we had a little trouble finding the place, but that doesn't detract from our enthusiasm for this Hampton Inn. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

Stumbled across this diamond while searching online for great deals. Huge rooms, lots of cool amenities. All the things I need in a hotel - microwave, fridge, free internet, free breakfast, pool & fitness center. I would love to stay here again when I'm back in San Jose!

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2005

Excellent Hampton Inn. Rooms were very spacious and clean and staff was very helpful.

Hotel is in a very odd location with no restaurants nearby. It is also several miles from the freeway and a traveler just passing thru the area wouldn't even know it existed.

Breakfast was good with exception of eggs which had a very odd smell and texture . . . we were afraid to eat them!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2005

We stayed in one of the suites. One room had two beds, a tv, large closet and bath. The other room had a kitchenette and a sofa bed. However, in this room the tv was missing from the tv stand with only a layer of dust to show it had been there. (Otherwise, the room was very clean). There was a dining area, but no table. The refrigerator was off when we checked in and at first we thought it wasn't working. You will have to turn this on yourselves.

There are only 1 or 2 restaurants in the area for miles around because of the isolated location.

On the other hand, the room was spacious and very, very quiet. The breakfast room was clean and inviting and offered a good choice of items. The staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

Hotel a little hard to find, when you fly in and it's night, and your tired! With construction at airport it winds up to be about 6 miles to hotel. When you find it, it's like a oasis in the middle of industrial/commercial looking (at night) area. Very clean and large room, staff very helpful. Good breakfast. We were pleased with stay.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose

Address: 55 Old Tully Road, San Jose, CA 95111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in San Jose where you can relax and unwind, you've come to the right place: the Hampton Inn & Suites® - San Jose, CA. We're conveniently located less than 5 miles from downtown San Jose, the SJ Convention Center and (SJC)San Jose Airport. Plus, we're close to great local attractions like Great America amusement park, Raging Waters Waterpark, the Winchester Mystery House, and Santana Row Shopping District. You'll find it all just minutes from our comfortable San Jose hotel... Stop by and see what we have to offer! We love having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.