We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near downtown San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Old Tully Road, San Jose, CA 95111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Brentwood, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near downtown San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton with friends who stayed here before and who highly recommended it. It was perfect for our needs as we were attending a small event being held in the nearby Willow Glen district of San Jose. The hotel rooms were spacious, clean, and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good - eggs, yogurt, fruit, waffles, cereal, etc. The hotel is located across from the fairgrounds and while it's not a great neighborhood it isn't the worst I've ever seen. There are lots of chain type restaurants nearby in the shopping center at Curtner and Monterey and I would have felt safe driving by myself from the hotel to any of these restaurants. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others,

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    63
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
59
22
11
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nevada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We needed a place to stay when traveling to San Jose for a concert at the HP pavillion. The location was a quick 5-10 minute drive from the downtown area.. The hotel was very clean, the price was reasonable for the area. The breakfast was decent, the front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful. No charge for parking. The only complaint I have would be the squeaky ceiling that impacted our sleep everytime our upstairs neighbor moved. We would stay here again (but ask for the top floor)!

Room Tip: If returning, I would try a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I spent one night (Wed Oct 24) and found this hotel to be very good. It's located near the fair grounds, which is not a great area. There is some shopping and restaurants within 1/2 mile, but I wouldn't walk it if I was female or after dark. Despite the location, the hotel is very clean, the staff friendly, the room was bigger than average, and the breakfast was pretty good (eggs, bacon, oatmeal, waffles, fruit, yogurt, etc.) The beds are comfortable and we didn't hear any noise from adjoining rooms. The windows open fully to allow fresh air. We had eaten at a restaurant and returned to around 7:15 to find the managers reception still open an enjoyed a couple glasses of wine (while watching the Giants smack the Tigers in Game 1) The woman running the reception couldn't be nicer. The exercise room is undergoing renovation so we didn't use it. The pool area is small, but if you have kids and it's hot, they won't care about the size. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southrn California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was my first stay at a Hampton. Having never been overly impressed with the quality-for-price ratio with big brother Hilton, I was pleaseantly surprised with the overall room and facility quality for the mid-range price. Didn't have time or inclination to check out the surrounding area, but indoors everything seemed spotless and well maintained. Staff and breakfast were pleaseat. The room was immaculate, the bed comfortable, the workstation workable. No complaints - I'll be back...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice! Got a King Bed Study with Sofabed – large room; sofabed are slightly separated from the king bed area. Somewhat smallish closet, but sufficient. Service was good – arrived early and room wan’t ready, but the clerk let us know right away when it was ready and paid attention to my request for a quiet location. Despite being in the San Jose Airport flight path, the airplanes are barely noticeable. One drawback: the shower in the next room is unusually noisy.

Room Tip: If the "Study" is available at not too much of a premium, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Typical Hampton Inn. Clean, comfortable, friendly and accommodating staff. Close to plenty of eating places, but also close to some great hiking and biking trails up in the hills. The Fairgrounds are right next door too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A well maintained hotel in a convenient location. Near The Plant (a shopping center with Target, restaurants for every budget, etc). SJ Fairgrounds walking distance away. Off the main drag, so a bit more peaceful, and layout shades cars from San Jose hot sun. Spacious room. Room clean, nice. Standard Hampton breakfast. Oreos on arrival a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose

Address: 55 Old Tully Road, San Jose, CA 95111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in San Jose where you can relax and unwind, you've come to the right place: the Hampton Inn & Suites® - San Jose, CA. We're conveniently located less than 5 miles from downtown San Jose, the SJ Convention Center and (SJC)San Jose Airport. Plus, we're close to great local attractions like Great America amusement park, Raging Waters Waterpark, the Winchester Mystery House, and Santana Row Shopping District. You'll find it all just minutes from our comfortable San Jose hotel... Stop by and see what we have to offer! We love having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.