We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near downtown San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose to your Saves list
Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Old Tully Road, San Jose, CA 95111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA - Save Up to 10%
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Brentwood, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near downtown San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton with friends who stayed here before and who highly recommended it. It was perfect for our needs as we were attending a small event being held in the nearby Willow Glen district of San Jose. The hotel rooms were spacious, clean, and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good - eggs, yogurt, fruit, waffles, cereal, etc. The hotel is located across from the fairgrounds and while it's not a great neighborhood it isn't the worst I've ever seen. There are lots of chain type restaurants nearby in the shopping center at Curtner and Monterey and I would have felt safe driving by myself from the hotel to any of these restaurants. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others,

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    93
    43
    20
    4
See reviews for
90
32
14
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We needed a place to stay when traveling to San Jose for a concert at the HP pavillion. The location was a quick 5-10 minute drive from the downtown area.. The hotel was very clean, the price was reasonable for the area. The breakfast was decent, the front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful. No charge for parking. The only complaint I have would be the squeaky ceiling that impacted our sleep everytime our upstairs neighbor moved. We would stay here again (but ask for the top floor)!

Room Tip: If returning, I would try a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I spent one night (Wed Oct 24) and found this hotel to be very good. It's located near the fair grounds, which is not a great area. There is some shopping and restaurants within 1/2 mile, but I wouldn't walk it if I was female or after dark. Despite the location, the hotel is very clean, the staff friendly, the room was bigger than average, and the breakfast was pretty good (eggs, bacon, oatmeal, waffles, fruit, yogurt, etc.) The beds are comfortable and we didn't hear any noise from adjoining rooms. The windows open fully to allow fresh air. We had eaten at a restaurant and returned to around 7:15 to find the managers reception still open an enjoyed a couple glasses of wine (while watching the Giants smack the Tigers in Game 1) The woman running the reception couldn't be nicer. The exercise room is undergoing renovation so we didn't use it. The pool area is small, but if you have kids and it's hot, they won't care about the size. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southrn California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was my first stay at a Hampton. Having never been overly impressed with the quality-for-price ratio with big brother Hilton, I was pleaseantly surprised with the overall room and facility quality for the mid-range price. Didn't have time or inclination to check out the surrounding area, but indoors everything seemed spotless and well maintained. Staff and breakfast were pleaseat. The room was immaculate, the bed comfortable, the workstation workable. No complaints - I'll be back...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice! Got a King Bed Study with Sofabed – large room; sofabed are slightly separated from the king bed area. Somewhat smallish closet, but sufficient. Service was good – arrived early and room wan’t ready, but the clerk let us know right away when it was ready and paid attention to my request for a quiet location. Despite being in the San Jose Airport flight path, the airplanes are barely noticeable. One drawback: the shower in the next room is unusually noisy.

Room Tip: If the "Study" is available at not too much of a premium, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Typical Hampton Inn. Clean, comfortable, friendly and accommodating staff. Close to plenty of eating places, but also close to some great hiking and biking trails up in the hills. The Fairgrounds are right next door too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A well maintained hotel in a convenient location. Near The Plant (a shopping center with Target, restaurants for every budget, etc). SJ Fairgrounds walking distance away. Off the main drag, so a bit more peaceful, and layout shades cars from San Jose hot sun. Spacious room. Room clean, nice. Standard Hampton breakfast. Oreos on arrival a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose

Address: 55 Old Tully Road, San Jose, CA 95111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in San Jose where you can relax and unwind, you've come to the right place: the Hampton Inn & Suites® - San Jose, CA. We're conveniently located less than 5 miles from downtown San Jose, the SJ Convention Center and (SJC)San Jose Airport. Plus, we're close to great local attractions like Great America amusement park, Raging Waters Waterpark, the Winchester Mystery House, and Santana Row Shopping District. You'll find it all just minutes from our comfortable San Jose hotel... Stop by and see what we have to offer! We love having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.