We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay for a family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites San Jose Cupertino

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites San Jose Cupertino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Jose Cupertino
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Saratoga Avenue, San Jose, CA 95129   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #29 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A good stay for a family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is the first time I have chosen to stay at this hotel. The reason been that I am traveling with my wife this time and we would like to find a room that we could do a simple cook.

Location: you'd better have a car to stay here as it is not near the Cupertino Town or San Jose. Some say it is near the Vally fair shopping centre but be careful as you need to walk 30-40 minutes to get there. However there is a good place called Lion city just across the road of the hotel and there is also a Asian supermarket with Asian food center. I think that is one of the reason why I saw many visitors from Taiwan and Hong Kong choose to stay there.

Room: The room is fairly specious considering it is suite type. I stayed at the smallest one but feel quite ok.

Facilities: The good think in the room is that they have full kitchen including oven, electric stove, microwave cooker, dishwasher, a big refrigerator and full set of cookware. It is good if you want to buy something from the supermarket opposite and cook yourself. But bare in mind that it is studio type and if you cook a lot your bed room would be very much like the restaurant. There is also a swimming pool with the BBK area. The hotel told me that if you wanted to do a family/friend gathering it is first come first service with no charge. But you need to bring all things you need and they would just give the place.

There is also a self laundry and exercise room.

The service: the hotel offers complimentary breakfast. However do not be too fancy about that as it is just some basic stuff in the check-in lobby and you have to take them back to room as there is no place to sit down at all. I did not take that seriously and just go there and pick some drinks and fruits back to the room.

In general I think it is more of a family hostel than a business hotel although I am on business. if you are traveling along with out a car think about other places. If you are bringing your family with a car and would like to cook some food with your stay this is the best one around the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
4
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is certainly a decent enough place, though not particularly memorable. It seems like it's a fairly new hotel, and everything is in good shape. Though to compare this to a nice older, established hotel is like comparing a cookie-cutter tract home in a newly-laid-out suburban subdivision to a nice vintage home in an older, established neighborhood--while it looks OK because it's new, it's soulless and will look run-down and dated in a few years. Like a suburban tract home, the construction and furnishings seem to be whatever could be done as cheaply as possible while still looking decent enough (when new, anyway) to pass at first glance. The place basically has the look and feel of a mass-market suburban apartment building.

The rooms are quite spacious and have a full kitchen. Our room had one queen-sized bed and a sofa-sleeper. Everything was clean and everything seemed to work properly. This would definitely be a good place for a long-term stay, such as for someone who has to spend a month or two in San Jose for a work project, and you could feel at home here for such a stay. It's not as good for a quick overnight stay, though.

The pool and spa area is nice, and parking is convenient. The room walls seem a little thin, because we could definitely hear conversations in other rooms, even though it didn't seem like anyone was being particularly loud.

One annoyance was that on check-in were offered as a "bonus" a choice of a free snack bag (with 2 bottles of water, caramel corn, snack mix, etc.) or double Marriot reward points--we chose the gift bag--only to discover upon examing the bill after check-out that they had charged us for the "free" snack bag! We called the hotel to ask about this and were told they had made a mistake, but that we would have to call back again the next day to talk to someone else to have their mistake corrected. Yeah, it was only 5 bucks, but it was more the principle of the thing that bothered us, and it was kind of annoying to spend the time to make two phone calls to correct the hotel's mistake, all to recoup just $5.

Anyway, having said that, this hotel is certainly a viable option for accomodations in this area, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. After a long day of travel, dealing with Calif. traffic, meetings and time lines my stress level and exhaustion disappated when I walked in the front door of the TownePlace Suites in San Jose. The front office staff expected my arrival greating me with smiles treats and kindness. Throughout my stay they were engaging always there offering support ,information as well as directions for dinner locations and shopping. This staff was highly trained by their GM and went above and beyond to make my stay relaxing and comfortable.
Breakfast was Free and offered many options. As a single business traveler I felt safe and appreciated by every staff member.

Room Tip: Room at the back have no traffic sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama-shi, Saitama, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is my first stay at Towneplace. I stayed for 6nights.
The location is good as you can go to restaurant or Burger King on foot. The room has full kitchen. But I was disappointed their breakfast. There is no table or chair to eat, and all cold food. The area is very small, and if there are five people, there is no room to be. Therefore, I always take some food to my room and eat it at my room.

The room was clean, but the housekeeping person left cleaning cloth in the room for twice while my 6 nights stay.

The other thing that I disappointed was the wall is too thin as StoneAlone mentioned... I could heat iPhone vibrating in the next room, and all conversation on the telephone of the next room. I could also heat foot steps of upper floor person, So if you are the person who care about noise, I do not recommend this hotel. Probably one or two night would be Okey.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirvana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My first stay at a TownePlace...I definitely expected a hot breakfast at least like Holiday Inn Express, Courtyard, or something nicer. It was cold cereal, hot water for packaged oatmeal, and a few other choices like yogurt and fruit. No real place to eat...no trays to carry it back to your room...so you spent your mornings juggling things and then trying to use the room key to get inside. Wakeup calls, front desk, and maid service all terrific. Parking plentiful and free...and great location near restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: I had a room right next to the elevator but could not hear it...ground floor is just easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed there for 1 night GREAT hotel for the price .. Would be great for the bussness man

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putte
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights for business. Rooms are clean and spacious with kitchen. Badroom with shower, but no extras like shower gel. Only stinky soap!
Hotel serves minor breakfast at the lobby (cereals, milk, cookies, coffee, fruit) but no place to sit.
Personnel is friendly and helpful. Good for a business stay, close to Santana Row Village and close to Sillicon Valley.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites San Jose Cupertino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Jose Cupertino

Address: 440 Saratoga Avenue, San Jose, CA 95129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites San Jose Cupertino 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Jose Cupertino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Jose Cupertino Hotel San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites San Jose Cupertino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.