We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what was needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Jose Marriott to your Saves list
San Jose Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great for what was needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My stay at the Marriott was unintentional. My connecting flight out of San Fran was cancelled and the Air NZ could not get me on a flight until the next day. So I, along with many other passengers, was bussed out to San Jose to stay here. The staff were excellent, very quickly checking in many angry passengers and informing us (far more information than the airline could give) the plans for the following day.

The rooms were a decent size and very functional. I ordered room service and it came very quickly and was delicious.

The bed was very comfortable and even with the stress of my delayed journey, I managed to sleep very well and did not stir until my wakeup call.

The only thing I was not a fan of was that Wi-fi was not included. As I am sure many travellers know, this hotel is not alone in this charge, however I feel that in this modern day it should be part of any hotels features.

All in all a great hotel and if I ever had to stay in San Jose again I would not hesitate to come here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    218
    94
    34
    14
See reviews for
73
58
44
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Everything as expected, clean and friendly service. At the beginning, the staff tried to charge me parking fee and claimed third party will always need to charge parking, but when I showed her my booking email from hotel.com showing free parking, she waived the fee. Not sure what exactly happened, but problem resolved, no complains.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nice place; As others have commented, their is a strong smell of a scent when you come in. It is pleasant, but it is very strong. The rooms were clean, large and up to date. The staff was accomodating and they were very pleasant and helpful when checking in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at the San Jose Marriott for four nights and had a very pleasant experience. Not even the grout in the shower bothered me. Seriously, the rooms are clean, cheerful, well appointed, pleasantly furnished. I had a view of the pool and construction on the convention center. I dislike hotels intensely but cannot fault this hotel for anything other than the fact that the air is artificial, the food is limited, expensive and disgustingly non-healthy, and the sound effects of constant bad music is enough to drive one crazy. But if you need a hotel to attend a conference on the Convention Center then this is your best bet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice up to date full service Marriott, attached to San Jose convention center. Very good location for walking to restaurants as well.
Very good steakhouse on property (Arcadia), downtown hotel prices with excellent service and food.
Bonus: If you can get onto the concierge floors the concierge lounge is expansive and has a large outdoor balcony on the rooftop offering views of the hills, downtown, and airport.

Room Tip: concierge leel is worth the extra $$s
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I came here for a conference that was held in the hotel and adjacent convention center. It's very centrally located and nice. I should not have rented a car as I ended up leaving it in the parking garage the whole time (which cost $26/night if you valet park).
The hotel was very nice. The rooms were clean and since I have gold status with Marriott, I was also able to enjoy the club level on the 26th floor. That was nice and they had nice food and drinks with awesome breakfast there. All in all, I'd definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here recently to attend a conference at the San Jose Convention Center. You can't get closer than the San Jose Marriott. They're connected by a hallway. It makes it incredibly convenient and quick to attend your conference sessions, view the exhibits, or whatever you want to do, then pop back to your room to dump all your wonderful swag, freshen up or take a break. My room was typical nice business class, clean, very nice appointments. There is a pleasant little deli downstairs for a quick coffee or light meal. Helpful professional staff and assistance.

My only disappointment was that there was no airport shuttle - the only alternative offered was a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Address: 301 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Green Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Jose Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.