We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good downtown choice; excellent for convention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Jose Marriott to your Saves list
San Jose Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“good downtown choice; excellent for convention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice up to date full service Marriott, attached to San Jose convention center. Very good location for walking to restaurants as well.
Very good steakhouse on property (Arcadia), downtown hotel prices with excellent service and food.
Bonus: If you can get onto the concierge floors the concierge lounge is expansive and has a large outdoor balcony on the rooftop offering views of the hills, downtown, and airport.

Room Tip: concierge leel is worth the extra $$s
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    214
    93
    34
    14
See reviews for
72
58
43
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I came here for a conference that was held in the hotel and adjacent convention center. It's very centrally located and nice. I should not have rented a car as I ended up leaving it in the parking garage the whole time (which cost $26/night if you valet park).
The hotel was very nice. The rooms were clean and since I have gold status with Marriott, I was also able to enjoy the club level on the 26th floor. That was nice and they had nice food and drinks with awesome breakfast there. All in all, I'd definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here recently to attend a conference at the San Jose Convention Center. You can't get closer than the San Jose Marriott. They're connected by a hallway. It makes it incredibly convenient and quick to attend your conference sessions, view the exhibits, or whatever you want to do, then pop back to your room to dump all your wonderful swag, freshen up or take a break. My room was typical nice business class, clean, very nice appointments. There is a pleasant little deli downstairs for a quick coffee or light meal. Helpful professional staff and assistance.

My only disappointment was that there was no airport shuttle - the only alternative offered was a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My company put on an event at the SJ Convention Center, note that the Mariott is attached to it, hence it's an incredibly short walk to the venue. Stayed at the hotel for four nights, overall was a fine stay, room was clean, great work space and was quiet. Since our event served breakfast and lunch, really only had drinks/snacks at the hotel in the hotel bar, which were fine. Service at the hotel was great.

The hotel's pool area felt pretty spartan, but, got good sun, and felt a bit like a solar oven with the sun relecting off the hotels windows in the late afternoon....

Overall, if I'm attending an event at the SJCC, will definitely be back at the SJ Mariott.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott 2 nights in early November for an onsite convention. I requested a room with 2 double beds on a high floor and early check in and late check out. The room was ready to check in when I arrived before 11am and service was speedy. The room was fairly spacious, bed was comfortable, lots of pillows and towels and very quiet. The latest check out available was 1pm and I had a 6pm flight. The convention had arranged for left luggage which could be picked up later on the last day.

The bathroom had a pretty good shower and tub, lots of counter space but the toilet jutted out in the doorway a bit. That seemed odd. The soap and other toiletries had a very strong scent but I usually carry my own but had to use the soap. I should have asked if there was unscented soap available. The towels were thin but in good condition.

There was a coffee maker but no small refrigerator, that, like internet connectivity, is available for an additional fee. There was a large flat screen TV but the feed may not have been HD so the quality was poor. Black out curtains worked really well.

Breakfast in the steakhouse restaurant was fine with a choice of menu items or a small buffet. There was a gift shop with a coffee bar onsite which had a case for sandwiches and breakfast foods. This shop had difficulty with food delivery for the 3 days I was there. I was able to get a pretty good sandwich there one day but the best I could get for a quick breakfast one morning was a granola bar as the food delivery had not arrived. Same with lunch one day, no delivery. The sign said they served Starbuck's coffee, I wish it had actually been a Starbuck's with their menu.

Hotel staff were helpful, taxis always available and the hotel is close to the airport. I would give it a good but not very good rating due to the thin towels, lack of delivery to the coffee shop and charging for internet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel. Great location connected to conference center. Coffee makers in room did not do a good job of making tea. A lot of traffic noise on 5th floor - moved to 20th floor was much quieter. Expensive charge $20/night for internet access. Seemed high.

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor to avoid traffic noise from Market St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was on the 19th floor. Here is somethng new....fast elevators during a convention! My room was spacious and had nice working area for my laptop with plenty of accessible plug ins. The bed was wonderful and there is coffee in the room. My only request would be to have a fridge in the room....this is pretty common anymore and I was surprised not to find one. The location is great....nice area to get out and walk around and if you are there for a convention...you dont even have to go outside to get to the hall. Internet is not free!!

Room Tip: Probalby any room is fine....its on the corner of busy streets but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Address: 301 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Green Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Jose Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.