We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MIZU Sushi Bar & Grill

MIZU Sushi Bar & Grill
1035 S Winchester Blvd, San Jose, CA 95128-3702
408-824-1661
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MIZU Sushi Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,696 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Korean, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Williams
Transit: Public transit stop within 50 feet.
Description: Sushi Bar and Grill with a fusion menu including Korean BBQ. Full bar and Lounge.
Morgan Hill, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Being from out of town, we asked a friend about a sushi restaurant in the area where he lives, and he mentioned MIZU. We decided to visit, and we were VERY PLEASED! My partner is Asian and a very good cook with a very discerning taste, and he was genuinely impressed with the quality of the food. Our waiter (sorry I failed to get his name) was superb as well. We will definitely visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Visited this place twice last week, one lunch and one dinner. Found very fresh and creative menu, welcoming service and great atmosphere. The best sushi around, and can say that after having lots of sushi dinners in the Bay Area. Don't dare missing the crispy rice, hot but real KNOCKOUT. Wish I lived there just for the joy of coming again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizuSushiBarGrill, Manager at MIZU Sushi Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for the great review William!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I went here when I was visiting him in San Jose. We met up with some friends and were amazed at how many options there were. There are options for non sushi eaters as well. But we did stick to the Sushi menu. My boyfriend and I ordered three different sushi rolls: The dragon roll, the Mango roll, and the Spicy Crunch roll. Each of them was so tasty and beautifully presented. The mango roll was the most unique with a slice of mango on top and a sweet mango type sauce that I just wasn't a fan of but the other two were very good, the dragon roll was shrimp tempura inside and topped with some other sort of fish. The Spicy crunch roll was actually deep fried and filled with spicy crab meat and spicy tuna i believe. The atmosphere in this place was great! it wasn't too loud or anything. We did make reservations as suggested to us by our friends, but we went at 7 PM on a monday night and there were tables available for walk ins. Also be prepared to spend a bit of money the cheapest rolls were around $10. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to try some place different! There are non sushi options as well as vegetarian sushi so it would be great for anyone! I will definitely be going back on my next trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizuSushiBarGrill, Manager at MIZU Sushi Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for the review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Dined here with family and friends, and we all thought their sushi was of great quality. One of our orders got delayed and the management was very apologetic and even gave us desserts on the house. I recommended this to others and would definitely go back when we're in town.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizuSushiBarGrill, Manager at MIZU Sushi Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Jane,

Thanks for bringing your friends and family to Mizu, we can't wait to see you guys again!

Mizu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

So it's a restaurant right, so Food first?
SO GOOD! $$ but totally worth it! Their rolls are all divine & taste really fresh and chilled *unless cooked*. Their miso is restorative - if you're feeling down or ill also try their Green Tea!

I recommend the Extreme Volcano roll - its got spicy crab on top, but really it just adds some flavor! Of course, anything unagi is amazing! If there are two of you and you want an overview, try the House Boat that comes with CaliRolls, teriyaki, potstickers (goyza), and tempura with a bit of fresh fruit for a light dessert as well as the soup & rice. Doesn't sound like much, but you'll be pleasantly surprised. I always have leftovers!

Sushi bar to watch, but no boats to eat!

Alcohol: full bar & AWESOME bartenders! They're the good kind that'll chat with you if you're free, but leave you alone if you're watching the game or with someone. Very attentive! And of course they make great drinks :)

Ambiance: Comfortable tones and fun lighting, but not traditional and there are no laminated signs on the walls. It's a nicer place - date night worthy, but you get a smattering of families also, so it's not intense or fancyformal. It can get suuuper crowded especially Friday/Saturday and its a medium size restaurant so the noise carries to a mix that can get a bit loud for really personal conversations. Best part though: TVs - they have football, baseball & basketball games playing - or sportscenter etc. - so you can have your date night & keep track of the score :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizuSushiBarGrill, Manager at MIZU Sushi Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Jolynn,

Thanks for all of the kind words, we love to see positive feedback coming in. Your review offers some really great advice and will be very helpful to our guests, so for that we thank you!

See you soon,

Mizu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MIZU Sushi Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to MIZU Sushi Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MIZU Sushi Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.