We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inside and out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
80 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
408-283-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 140 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful inside and out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

Very beautiful inside and very cleansing. Tours from 1-3 pm, but not everyday. Hard to find parking. Best to park in the public parking on Park Avenue and then walk over. Gives you time to wonder without rushing.

Then you can walk over to the San Jose Museum of Art, and the nearby park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    28
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Easter Morning at St. Joseph”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

First and foremost thank you for allowing me to worship with you on Easter morning. We were visiting San Jose, CA during Easter and were concerned that we would miss Church. The people we inviting, ushers were efficient in helping to accommodate the always large Easter service. What more can be said, the Priest was attentive to the Masses and was wonderful in his Homily. Everyone, Parishioners and visitors were invited in and encouraged to take part in the Mass and their commitment. Thank you to everyone that made the Mass so wonderful.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasure to Attend Mass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Cathedral was refurbished in the 1990's. For years it was just known as St. Joseph's Church. The traditional altar at the front is now an altar in the round, the congregation sits on three sides. Restoration was well done, sometimes the acoustics are not the best. If just visiting, be sure to walk around the main altar, behind it is the original altar, beautiful! Mass is rich with thecongregation singing. I really feel like I've been to Mass. Parking is always an issue in downtown, that's the only drawback.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

I walked in and I was like "Wow". I have not seen anything so beautiful! It has some of the most beautiful saints that I have ever seen. I would love to attend a service here, as I was just passing by and stopped in.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful Catholic Church in Downtown San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

This church is really a hidden treasure. It is really one of the most beautiful churches that I have ever been to. From the beautiful ceiling Art to the beautiful statues and saints all around, this church is something to see. It is really a Sanctuary. Loved my visit there. This church seems to always be open. A Must See!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.