We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great mass!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
80 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
408-283-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 66 Attractions in San Jose
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a great mass!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I came here and really enjoyed the visit and the mass. I came during lent and the processional music was beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    27
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historical Roman Catholic Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I spent quite a bit of time at St. Joseph Church in downtown San Jose. The Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph is located in downtown San Jose. It is a minor basilica and the cathedral church for the Diocese of San Jose. It is also the first parish established in California not affiliated with a mission, although it was staffed with Franciscan priests (Jesuits would later take over staffing). This is one of California's finest churches.Have had many baptisms and weddings here.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“European-esque cathedral in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

After seeing many cathedrals in Rome, Paris, and Madrid in the past few years, I have to admit this cathedral in downtown San Jose holds its own. Very nicely done and open to the public for viewing and saying a quick prayer. Close to the downtown park and restaurants makes it even more convenient!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Easy access for handicap.Location is ideal to visit with many other sights. Liked the Old World decor, brought back many childhood memories.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The glass paintings were fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

My friend took me to the church and I had an enjoyable experience. Its quiet and serene. The glass paintings were wonderful and so was the church dome.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.