We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice piece of art” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
80 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
408-283-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 81 Attractions in San Jose
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice piece of art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I visited this church twice and it's good place to visit. Color combination, statues are very decorative. It's excellent piece art where they shown the journey of Jesus with meaningful messages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna, New Jersey
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very California Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Attended a weeding here. The church is very nice. Large but not real big. This is not a tourist destination. No airconditioning

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“peace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

i liked the building and the simplicity of the church design inside. i was wondering why there were no kneeling pads.?.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Basilica inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This cathedral is a gem in downtown San Jose. It is possible to sit and move around the Basilica for moments at a time to take in each angle and every painted area and ceiling. As beautiful and majestic as European churches. It is outstanding. It is sometimes not convenient to park in the area and be prepared for metered parking or paid parking in a nearby garage. Depending on the day, there may be homeless congregating nearby but don't let that stop you from visiting this lovely church.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“A feeling of Peace....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We visited early one morning at 9:30. We parked the block over but it's $1.00 every 15 minutes with a $20.00 maximum. We walked in and there was a feeling of peace. It was simply breathtaking. We stood there for the longest time in a daze at the beauty. There are no words that can describe this Cathedral's stained glass, ceilings and displays. We walked slowly around and sat for 15 minutes just trying to take in all the beauty. There were 2 tour groups going on at the time. As we exited there was 2 boxes. One for the cathedral's maintenance and one for the poor. Please give to one or the other. Then as we walked out it was time I am guessing for the poor to get something but don't know what it was. It was from the building next door. As you walk out the front door to the right there is gift shop. They opened at 10:00am and we had an apptmt at 11:00am so had to head out. I could have spent an hour there easy just sitting in meditation and prayer. We only paid $2. but there were other places to park. We were just in a hurry.

There was also a museum next door that we were going to come back and visit but didn't make it back. :( Boohoo.......so save some time for that also however don't know anything about it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.