We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful artwork” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
80 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
408-283-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 140 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful artwork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This church compares to some of the beautiful churches of Europe. The frescos, the fabulous stained glass, especially the huge window over the alter. Very impressive. Allow at least an hour to fully appreciate all the beauty here. Please be respectful of the fact that this is a holy place for many people.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    28
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful mission style church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Well worth checking out in downtown San Jose. Beautiful architecture and spectacular inside. Close to parking and the Innovation Museum

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“California Mission Feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The interior and exterior architecture and decoration mixed elements of native american, spanish missionary and late 19th century in a unique manner.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This Cathedral is a MUST see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was totally caught off guard by the beauty of this Cathedral. They just don't make them like this any longer. I thought I was in Europe, it was that special.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very informative and interesting. The lady that gave me the tour was so friendly. She took her time to show me around and explained the history to me. Really worth visiting this historic cathedral.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.