We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California Mission Feeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
80 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
408-283-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 140 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“California Mission Feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The interior and exterior architecture and decoration mixed elements of native american, spanish missionary and late 19th century in a unique manner.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    29
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This Cathedral is a MUST see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was totally caught off guard by the beauty of this Cathedral. They just don't make them like this any longer. I thought I was in Europe, it was that special.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very informative and interesting. The lady that gave me the tour was so friendly. She took her time to show me around and explained the history to me. Really worth visiting this historic cathedral.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Awesome, Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Take time to visit the Cathedral, to spend a few minutes reflecting on the beauty of the surroundings and the peace that envelopes you when you enter this sanctuary. Pause and give thanks for the blessings in your life. This is a beautiful place of refuge in the City of San Jose.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

One doesn't associate high architecture and cathedrals with SJ--but this one is special and wonderfully restored....try and catch a concert here....you will not be disappointed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.