We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful SJ Site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
80 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
408-283-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 140 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful SJ Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Cathedral is a wonderful place to visit anytime. We have been there alone and also taken out of town guests.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    28
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Few cities are gifted with a Basilica and few Catholics can say they live in a city that houses one. San Jose is gifted to have this beautiful temple and spiritual refuge. We went to Mass and felt at home among the parishioners. We can't wait till we return again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had time to kill in SJ so we stopped by. This building is beautiful regardless of your faith or beliefs. I was surprised how busy it was on a Thursday afternoon till I realized we were just in time for the noon mass. We are not Catholic so we sat quietly for a while not wanting to pull out my camera and start flashing pictures while people were bowing in prayer. Glad we stopped in!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“CATHERDAL BASILICA OF ST. JOSEPH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you like churches this is a must see. The church is around a 100 years old. The stain glass windows are great . Churches like this are not built anymore. So if you have the time, go.

BUD CARTER

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A bit of Europe in downtown San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Don't let that domed building fool you. On the outside it looks pretty cool and all, but step inside and your smack dab in a European cathedral. Haven't been to Europe, well now you can experience a bit of it here, more than a bit a lot of it.

The stained glass windows are resplendent. The wooden pews, the alter, the incredibly carved angels and statues. Even if you're not a Catholic, you'll appreciate the architecture and one of San Jose's most beloved landmarks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.