We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cathedral Basilica of Saint Joseph” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
80 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
408-283-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 65 Attractions in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Churches & cathedrals, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cathedral Basilica of Saint Joseph”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

If I remember correctly, this was originally built in 1777. Obviously remodeled and kept in fabulous condition. It's absolutely beautiful. I happened to visit duing a mass celebrating wedding anniversaries so the place was packed. Nice little gift shop next door. The public parking nearby is $10 if you park longer than 15 minutes.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, California, United States
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was amazing and so spiritual. I loved the architecture and the clergy so peaceful and loving . I will never forget the time I spent there with my family

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Amazing and gorgeous church!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Went to sunday and daily mass. Loved the church space! This church is totally impressive. Felt like I was sitting inside St Peter's.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Local tourist visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Surprised at such a beautiful cathedral right in our own city. Europe has competition! Parking was not a problem despite being right in the downtown area. There are other points of interest that can be walked to from the Cathedral.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Cathedral is an overstatement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

San Jose is one of the largest cities in the US, but its cathedral just match up to the city's stature.

It is a pretty building, but situated on a busy street, Market, at a busy crossroads, so not the greatest of locations. Unfortunately it also seems to be the San Jose centre for the homeless as there are always many hanging around, and in have walked past it dozens of times for some years. They even have a refreshments window to serve those less fortunate.

I am not making a point about the care they give to those in need, but it is a bizarre sight to see in a city as rich as San Jose on one of its major thoroughfares.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.