We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local tourist visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
80 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
408-283-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 66 Attractions in San Jose
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
Saratoga, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Local tourist visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Surprised at such a beautiful cathedral right in our own city. Europe has competition! Parking was not a problem despite being right in the downtown area. There are other points of interest that can be walked to from the Cathedral.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    27
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Cathedral is an overstatement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

San Jose is one of the largest cities in the US, but its cathedral just match up to the city's stature.

It is a pretty building, but situated on a busy street, Market, at a busy crossroads, so not the greatest of locations. Unfortunately it also seems to be the San Jose centre for the homeless as there are always many hanging around, and in have walked past it dozens of times for some years. They even have a refreshments window to serve those less fortunate.

I am not making a point about the care they give to those in need, but it is a bizarre sight to see in a city as rich as San Jose on one of its major thoroughfares.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunday Mass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Beautiful Cathedral! Sounds are wonderful, the altar is in the middle and the congregation are seating in a circle. Make sure you take a good look at the ceilings and walls. Nice heated baptismal font near the entrance

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“God is there! Alter in the round. Gold rush money bought fine art.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Mass in a circle. Grand white marble statues. The people of San Jose come and pray. Rich and poor. It feels alive. Great echoing sounds. Nice stained glass. Step out of the busy city for a time with God.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Must see if love architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I love looking at older churches. I grew up with a gothic one, and try to see any in my travels that I can.

Beautiful scenes everywere you look! Ceilings, walls, and the marble floors are nothing to overlook.

The baptismal font is huge and HEATED!!! I expected it to be cold, and tentatively, and look to see if I had touched the water. Nice! Since marble churches are usually cool, the added touch kept me feeling warm throughout the tour.

I took my protestant husband with me. He, too, was impressed. The murals are incredible. We stopped at every statue and looked up. It appears as if each apostle looked down on us.

the alter itself was in the middle of the room. Behind where the altar usually stands was a 'grotto' of sorts. It had a kneeler with the tabernacle.

I am having a tough time coming up with the words to how warm, inviting, and serene this cathedral make me.

The bookstore is right next door, and it appeared as if Catholic Social Services were there, too. Many 'down on their luck' appearing people were waiting in line to speak to someone in a window.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.