We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breat taking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
80 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
408-283-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 102 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breat taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My 2 grandaughters were baptised here. I have attended many weddings & funerals here. The inside, is full of saints and sinners. Here you can come and not be judged. You can sit for 5 minutes or 5 hours. There is a free Health Clinic for ther homeless. Located in the middle of San Jose.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    37
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This church was so beautiful!!! In the middle of hussle and bussle but as soon as you step foot inside it was all quiet. You instantly feel a sense of calmness and it makes you slow down. It just give you a spirtitual recharge a reminder of wgat is important!!! A must see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Beautiful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Historical huge church right downtown.Close to downtown hotels and train. A must see if you are in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful ... Stunning Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This small but stunning cathedral was truly breathtaking. I would definitely recommend taking a tour of this cathedral.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Beautiful Cathedral!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It is a historical church and a wonderful experience for anyone on matter what religion.
I went to this church when I was a little girl and it brings back memories. I went to a wedding there a few years ago and it was lovely.
My Son and I were at a meeting in downtown San Jose and went there in early afternoon and what a special church and place. It is so peaceful and specticular. Thank you San Jose.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.