We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cathedral!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
80 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
408-283-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 142 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Beautiful Cathedral!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It is a historical church and a wonderful experience for anyone on matter what religion.
I went to this church when I was a little girl and it brings back memories. I went to a wedding there a few years ago and it was lovely.
My Son and I were at a meeting in downtown San Jose and went there in early afternoon and what a special church and place. It is so peaceful and specticular. Thank you San Jose.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    34
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Lovely place to celebrate Mass. Have done a fine restoration job. Each time we have been here, we are glad we went. Beautiful stained glass and a great place for first communion & confirmation celebrations.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
330 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had a tour, which is offered for free. Our docent told us lots of history of the church. It is a beautiful Cathedral.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small but gorgeous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Reminds me of the old town I grew up in the Philippines, Our Lady of Manaoag. Beautiful architecture and peaceful despite the noise in downtown SJC. It is a small one yet gorgeous!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“magnificent architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This Cathedral was BEAUTIFUL!!! As a Catholic, I've been to many beautiful Catholic churches, and this was one of them. Though, they did not have kneelers. I'm not sure if this is standard in churches in the Diocese of San Jose. Still, it was a nice place to worship on a Sunday morning.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.