We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They get the basics right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Angus Steakhouse - Blossom Hill

Black Angus Steakhouse - Blossom Hill
1011 Blossom Hill Rd, San Jose, CA 95123
+1 408-266-6602
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Angus Steakhouse - Blossom Hill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #262 of 1,696 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“They get the basics right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Not a top end steak place, but they cover the basics and execute them well. Parking is easy.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Food Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We got right in on a Friday night thanks to call ahead seating. Very friendly and helpful service. Food was delicious. Casual atmosphere that's also cozy and relaxed. We're already planning our next visit back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We went on a Monday night to celebrate a family birthday. Other than the sports bar, which was full for Monday night football, the place was a ghost town. And YET, they sat us at the table nearest the kitchen door. Why do restaurants do this? Has the manager never been seated at a similar table when he went out to dinner? Not only is it loud and distracting, it's annoying when there's only 4 other occupied tables in the whole place.

The food is average, the waiter was highly caffeinated and inserted himself into our conversation every few minutes (since there was nothing else to do), and we were seated in the worst seat in the house. It will take a while before we decide to return.

PS By the time we got home, I had an email from Open Table saying they had cancelled our reservation because we were a no-show. Ha! If only it was true.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We used to love to go to Black Angus for great steaks and reasonable prices. Now the prices are unreasonable for mediocre steaks. Too many other places I prefer to ever go back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Reasonable food, reasonable prices, reasonably noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Everyone's been to a Black Angus and this one is no different. When they added the "Sports Bar" they subtracted ambiance like crazy. It's noisy! If you want a romantic night out, this is not the place. If you want to meet friends and don't care that basketball games are blaring off the flat screens, then it's OK. The menu is not what it used to be, but the steaks are still pretty good. It's better than a TGIFridays. That's about it.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Angus Steakhouse - Blossom Hill also viewed

 

Been to Black Angus Steakhouse - Blossom Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Angus Steakhouse - Blossom Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.