We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dolce Hayes Mansion to your Saves list
Dolce Hayes Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Raumati Beach, Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here for a three day meeting and really enjoyed the stay. The room was comfortable, the people friendly, the food good and the environment is lovely.
Our meeting was well looked after, happily recommend it for both business and leisure stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We are very happy to read of your wonderful experience during your stay with us.

Thank you very much for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    158
    44
    24
    16
See reviews for
111
149
20
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is very nice. It's quite remarkable when you learn that it was built in 1905. The service was excellent. Checkout time was 12pm which is an hour later than most hotels. We ate the buffet breakfast, it was really good. The room was clean and the bed was super comfy. The only complaint I have was that there was a fan or something that I could not turn off (not sure where the noise was coming from) which made it difficult to sleep some nights. I'm not sure if that is because of where our room was located (we were in 1315). All the staff were very nice also. I liked that I could log into work to check emails in the lobby on an actual computer as we did not want to bring a laptop.

Room Tip: Ensure your room is not facing the street (or you may be woken up by the train). Also, our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. It is great to hear that we were able to make your stay with us a wonderful memory. I will forward your comments regarding the fan noise in your room to our Chief Engineer Jack Jackson so he can look into it.

Until we see you again we wish you a wonderful everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is located in a residential area and next to a park, so we found it to be quiet. The adjacent park has jogging trails and a playground for younger kids. There were a number of places where you could sit outside and talk or just hang out. The staff was friendly and acknowledged you when passing or stopped to ask if you need help if you look lost.

We had a 'parlor suite' with a small separate sitting area with a fridge and TV that was very comfortable. (The mansion suite was much larger but was a single room and we wanted the 2 rooms). The rooms were clean and comfortable and the beds were fine, although not Westin Heavenly Bed soft. Our rate included a great breakfast buffet, which had an omelet bar, lots of breakfast choices and table service in the dining room.

Parking can be tough, there is limited parking just outside the rooms, but there is a large lot located across from the main entrance next to the park. We were located adjacent to the jacuzzi so it was somewhat noisy until the pool closed at 11. But otherwise the halls and grounds were quiet.

Overall, we were very satisfied and plan on making this hotel our usual place when we visit family in the area.

Room Tip: The ground floor parlor suites have two entrances, one to the hall and one to the grounds, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful time and were able to discover all the great, fun aspects of our hotel. Thank you as well for mentioning our staff and how we were always willing to offer assistance when we thought you might need it and were always friendly.

Glad we are now your getaway spot when you are in town.

Until next time take care and all the best to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I came here for a couples getaway, hoping for something that was somewhat romantic and self-contained. We have not been disappointed. The hotel is located in the middle of a suburbian neighborhood, and when we were first driving up to the hotel, I wasn't so sure. But as soon as we arrived on the grounds, it felt like we were in the middle of a luxurious resort, and the outside world disappeared. The rooms are a bit small, but very well appointed...I didn't mind the size at all. They have a beautiful, clean pool and hot tub area, and a comfortable outside lounge area with lots of room, comfortable seating, and even heat lamps for the evening so you can sit outside and have drinks from the adjacent bar. They do have a restaurant...we had the dinner buffet and the Sunday morning champagne brunch buffet...both unbelievable, seriously, (I wished I could have eaten twice as much as I was able to!), and the service staff were all awesome! The grounds are lovely to stroll around with colorful flowers and the mansion itself is a cool centerpiece. The staff here from the front desk to the bellhops were accommodating and helpful to no end. We also felt that this would be a great place to come and stay with our kids, although we'd probably get a suite to have a little more space. This place was great, and we look forward to coming back soon!

Room Tip: Loved the first floor room...it had large windows with a lovely backdrop of all the lush foliage on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed for a business trip but it was such a nice change of accommodations then your typical hotel. The staff is amazing and the grounds are beautiful. Great for early morning walks and the food was very good as well

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The mansion itself is gorgeous from the outside, but unless you are staying in one of the mansion rooms (200-400 a night) don't expect to explore the inside.
The guest rooms are regular motel rooms right above the "ballroom"
They are really really small, and you can hear the noise from downstairs. The quality of the rooms are the same as a Motel 6.
The parking lot is a good distance from the mansion, and is shared with a park. When we arrived at night, people from the park were just hanging out in the middle of the parking lot. On the immediate streets leading up to the mansion, expect to see plenty of graffiti from the local gangs...not the best neighborhood.
We checked in, saw our room, and immediately checked out. Very disappointing.
One star for the exterior of the mansion, one star for friendly front desk employee.

Room Tip: If you want to spend the night in the mansion, choose a "Mansion Room"
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

I sincerely apologize that we could not meet your expectations. As the many reviewers before you have expressed through their words they really enjoyed our property. My sincere regrets that our propertty did not turn out to be what you were expecting.

Once again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Called and confirmed our reservation 5 hours before arriving just to hear they over booked on rooms and didn't have one for us. After arguing for 10 min they say they have one with 2 beds and we could take it or leave it. Our reservation was for a room with one kingsize bed. The manager on duty and the lady at the desk said they could give us no info because they just started their shift and didn't have a clue about anything other than they overbooked and had to turn many people away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Address: 200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Hayes Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.