We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Save Saved
You added Dolce Hayes Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolce Hayes Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Kapaa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Clean and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights with a average Priceline price of $132/ night ... a great deal. Our room was not in the mansion but in an adjacent, newer building. The location was perfect for us (but not so great if you want a downtown hotel), with convenient access to Highways 101 and 85. Our room was comfortable and clean and everything worked well. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review and great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    145
    39
    22
    14
See reviews for
97
132
19
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

On weekend of June 14-17 we attended our cousin's wedding which chose this hotel for its celebration. Beautiful building and landscaping. The rooms are spacious and clean altough sometimes the air conditioning did not work well. We enjoyed the breakfast and lunch buffets at a reasonable cost considering that its location is a little far away from the commercial areas. The front desk was diligent in to find a taxi as we asked for. The service from the employees for the wedding was excellent, so we have an unforgettable weekend as of this.

El personal del restaurante y housekeeping hablan español lo que es una ventaja para los que no manejan muy bien el inglés. Ellos nos atendieron excelentemente por lo cual estamos muy agradecidos.

En fin pasamos un fin de semana maravilloso (wonderful weekend),

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
There is nothing better than being a part of a wonderful lasting memory. Thank you very much for your review and wonderful comments. How you remember us is extremely important our goal is to make sure that when you think of the Dolce Hayes Mansion the memory makes you smile.

Congratulations to your cousin and until we see you again keep smiling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

all good here - nice grounds, rooms nice and spacious. stayed 3 nights. food was good breakfast, lunch, and dinner. cant find much fault except that they closed the bar one night when it was nice and full and everyone was just having a nice time - i'm not sure what philosophy the bar works on - i'm more of a stay open when you're full kinda guy.. other than that - this place is really nice. great lawns to lie around on and read a book..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words; we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The building and grounds are beautiful and would make a lovely backdrop for a wedding. We enjoyed the lovely bar area and the pool. The rooms are a bit tired but clean. Our a/c didn't work well, making it warm for sleep. They have a nice breakfast buffet in the morning. The weekend rate of $109 was a steal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny SoCal
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days..Amazing rooms, super comfortable beds and great food! Staff super friendly and helpful. It was so relaxing that we actually decided to spend one day swimming, walking the grounds and hanging out instead of our original plan to go to San Fran. ( Been there plenty of times). We will be back again for sure! Only con here is that the main downtown area (Santana row, etc. ) was further away than we thought. Small inconvenience for such a great hotel....

Room Tip: Ask for a pool or grounds view so you don't get a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

In 2013 I presided over a 4-day event which used just about everything this place has to offer for conferences and WOW was I impressed!

Without a doubt the best aspect was that the hotel staff is the best I've ever worked with: from delivering a spare power cable to my room (I forgot mine and they had one in lost and found) to keeping multiple deliveries in luggage storage, from answering questions and facilitating registration to having their A/V crew customize the package based on daily feedback, it was great!

Very good free wifi (but that doesn't entirely make up for the fact that there is zero cell service inside the main building). Beautiful grounds (but be prepared that the hotel is a little isolated, so you can't just step outside for things you might want). Tasty food on site for bar snacks, in the restaurant, or catered. Wide variety of rooms for meetings. Ample free parking. My suite had a great layout and the balcony overlooking the pool was wonderful (but too hot during the day to enjoy). It was amazingly quiet. There were many casual areas including lovely outdoor areas to enjoy day or night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The grounds and rooms are amazing! We epecially enjoy the parlor suites as it gives our 3 small children room to roam. The size of the grounds make it easy to access the amenities and even though San Jose is a hustle bustle city the hotel location is set off so that you feel at peace and relaxed with the tranquil surroundings. Lastly, the breakfast buffet is especially delicioous with the many selections of foods that accomodate almost all eating habits. Lots of colors in the selections.

Room Tip: Go for the parlor suites. It allows a separate room to relax in with a dividing doors that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Address: 200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Hayes Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.