We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Hayes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Save Saved
You added Dolce Hayes Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dolce Hayes Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 72 hotels in San Jose
San Jose, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay at the Hayes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The grounds and rooms are amazing! We epecially enjoy the parlor suites as it gives our 3 small children room to roam. The size of the grounds make it easy to access the amenities and even though San Jose is a hustle bustle city the hotel location is set off so that you feel at peace and relaxed with the tranquil surroundings. Lastly, the breakfast buffet is especially delicioous with the many selections of foods that accomodate almost all eating habits. Lots of colors in the selections.

Room Tip: Go for the parlor suites. It allows a separate room to relax in with a dividing doors that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    133
    35
    21
    12
See reviews for
89
121
17
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

When we arrived to our room near the pool & jaccuzzi, the air conditioning was not functioning for our comfort level. We spoke with Pavel at the front desk, he gave us a few other room options for us to check out ourselves to see if we would be more comfrotable in them. He even offered to bring us a portable air conditioner. We found a room that was well ventilatied and the air conditioning was sufficient, it was an upgraded room which was not a problem for the hotel, since his (and their) main concern was our comfort. Pavel was pleasant, accomodating and made us feel important. He also called the room to make sure the AC was working and that eveything was to our liking . Overall, a comfortable and enjoyable night - breakfast buffett was awesome with lots of healthy choices, the resturant staff were great!! The pool and jaccuzzi was extremely relaxing. Definetely will recommend to family & friends and stay here again!

Room Tip: The suites upstairs are very relaxing and worth the upgrade with private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very clean and comfortable. Older hotel, but very well kept. Feels like staying in a home rather than a hotel, especially, if you stay in one of the Jr. or regular suites. Quiet location and friendly staff. A little "spooky" at night as it is secluded and dark around the area. Breakfast buffett is above average and they used to have the best bacon in town! However, the last couple of times I stayed there, the bacon was just average. They must have changed the brand or something. Anyways, great service and very accommodating.

Room Tip: Try one of the Suites. You won't be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here as a family for one Friday night. Received the Eucalyptus Suite on a discounted e upgrade. It is a nice suite on the third floor with some slanted ceilings from the roof line, but not claustraphobic. My wife and I did not call it luxury, but instead comfortable and homey. If you want over the top luxury this is not the suite for you. It has a nice tub/shower combination, with upgraded counter and floors. I'm used to seeing separate shower and tubs at this size and pricepoint. The bed in a separate bedroom is advertised as a queen and it might have been, but no bigger.

We did hear the train in the distance a couple of times and planes on final approach to San Jose airport. The trains sounded like they were at least a quarter mile away and the planes were still at about 10,000 feet so neither was very disturbing to city dwellers.

The palm plaza lounge had an excellent wine selection and the food was very good. Service was excellent.

Breakfast was interesting in that there werent very many people in the hotel and that made them perhaps slightly understaffed. Our waiter was making omellettes as well as waiting tables and this made it a little stressful for him but he carried it off okay.

I would recommend this hotel for a quiet Friday night or if you were sure there wasn't a major conference or weddding event.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We recently coordinated a 4 day Convention at Hayes Mansion for 250 guests. I cannot recommend the venue highly enough; due largely to the lovely grounds and consistently exceptional staff. When you add in the very reasonable pricing—it’s a great value.

Location: Hayes Mansion is tucked away in an unassuming residential neighborhood south of San Jose. We loved being a park like setting with lots of outdoor space and even walking trails. It was great that Conventioneers actually got to walk outside to travel between buildings and sit outside during meeting breaks...something that is very hard to do in a Big Downtown hotel. Obviously, there aren't other restaurants or cafes within walking distance, so you need to be happy on site or have a car. We were happy onsite.

Rooms: We had reserved a mix of Deluxe Rooms and Parlor Suites. Many of the rooms had balconies or lanais. Both rooms were styled traditionally and perhaps slightly dated, but the comfortable beds, modern bedding, flat screen TVs, IPOD alarm clocks, free WiFi and free refrigerators were AWESOME perks! The Parlor Suits even had a microwave. Sound transfer between rooms seemed minimal--especially for older buildings like these. Oh and there was plenty of water pressure.

Food: Most of our meals were plated banquet type deals. The banquet service exceeded expectations. While the food was not a culinary revelation it was well portioned, the chicken and fish were moist, and the meals were freshly prepared, and well-seasoned -- not an easy task when plating dinner for 200 people. I also ate at the Lounge at through Room Service and the food was very good. The cocktails in the bar and in the service bars set up for our events were great and the service was fast. We would often stay up late out on the courtyard patio and drink wine--and several attendees casually named it the *fancy pants lounge* because of the comfortable couches, nice lighting and great heaters.

Staff: This is actually the number one asset of this hotel. I don't know who sets the tone at this place, but they are doing a GREAT job. Staff are constantly asking if you need anything, and offering to help solve problems. They're gracious even when you make last minute requests. The staff act as though they work at a five star resort and it makes for a very pleasant stay.

Small Improvements: This place was excellent but it wasn't perfect. There were a few glitches in our meeting arrangements. We had thought we'd likely be the only event at the Hayes, but there ended up being a Wedding and a Stanford Alumni event at the same time. When booking a big event I'd be very careful about ensuring you have a sufficient room blocks to make other big events unlikely. The wedding wasn't that big of a deal, the only thing we were asked to change was to roll up our banners to make certain they didn't get into the wedding photos. As you would guess, the staff were very helpful in getting that done. The Stanford event didn't really inconvenience us at all. They were just annoying. There were too many loud drunk guys talking about how awesome they are. They sort of took over the Bar and that made it less attractive place for our (mostly female) convention attendees. Obviously, Hayes isn't responsible for the fact that Stanford Alumni apparently have no manners, so this is more of an FYI for Conference planning. Essentially, the Venue isn't that big (in terms of common space), and it may matter who is sharing the space with you.

All that said, I wouldn't hesitate to book a conference here in the future or to recommend it to colleagues. The service and location are great. It was really an ideal place for our event.

Room Tip: Request a 2nd Floor Room with a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I attended a 4 day convention at the Hayes Mansion and my organization paid for my lodging. Otherwise, I would not have been able to afford it. They charged $401 for 3 nights stay (that included all taxes and fees) and the dinner was $60. The food was good quality, but not worth $50. I really like being able to open the window to air out my room during the day and I didn't even use the heater or air conditioner the whole time I was there. It's on a quiet street so no traffic noise. The gym was well equipped and the staff is easily accessible and accommodating. It really does look like a mansion and the grounds are meticulously maintained and comfortable. There is a small park next to the mansion with walking trails and the neighborhoods in the area are safe for walking. The nearest shopping is a mile or two away and you need a car to get there, since San Jose is not set up well for walking. There is a small fridge in the room and a large screen tv and free internet access that is easy to connect to. The internet speed seems fine, but the tv has a delay when you first turn it on and when you change channels. It was bright and airy and lots of outdoor patio seating, so it didn't feel like a stuffy hotel at all. Beautiful experience, just a little pricey.

Room Tip: My room was right over the convention center and the single entrance/exit road of the hotel. I neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Mansion while we were visiting family in San Jose, and the location was perfect for us. Our room was very large, but a bit dated with a not-so-comfortable couch. Also, the air conditioning system was a bit cantankerous. We were told by staff it would take 10 minutes to start. Once it started, it never really got that cool. After turning it off and on several times during our stay, it finally started cooling on the final day. We had breakfast included with our stay, and the breakfast buffet was fabulous the first morning. However, I skipped an omelet the first day, thinking it would have it the next ... only to receive notice late in the day that we would not have access to breakfast the next day due to their Mother's Day brunch, so instead we had a limited breakfast in the basement ... and the dishes were cold. Not sure why we weren't advised of this at check-in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies that it was not communicated to you that our Mothers Day brunch was going to impact your breakfast on Mothers Day. We will make sure going forward we do communicate that to our guests that will not be attending our Mothers Day brunch. I hope we get the chance to turn around this and your air conditioning experience in the near future. Please let us know when and if you will be town again.

Your comments are very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel
Address: 200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Hayes Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.