We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dolce Hayes Mansion to your Saves list
Dolce Hayes Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Pros: This is a pretty hotel. Hotel rooms are large and clean. Staff is friendly. The property is very nice. They surprisingly included breakfast when we checked in that we were not expecting. The breakfast buffet is large and tasty and is usually $16 per person if not included. A good place to put your family or have an event.

Cons: The only thing I was bummed about was that the spa facilities are only open Friday - Sunday. So you are out of luck during the week. As nice as it is, it is boring to stick around and there are not many good restaurants nearby. If you are going to rent any of the many meeting rooms, have a look at them first because some are very dark and have no windows...you wouldn't want a group in there all day. Other meeting rooms are nice. (I peeked in as many as i could).
Parking lot can get full at night, we found it difficult to get a spot near our room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review the pro's and the con's.

I am sorry to hear you did not get to enjoy our spa services during you stay with us. Next stay please ask us at the Front Desk for things to do we have some great places to visit here in San Jose.
We have many different room options for the meetings we host, thank you for mentioning the ones with windows. To that I would like to add that no matter the floor plan the meeting experience at the Dolce Hayes Mansion is unmatched in the Silicon Valley. We strive as our standard to create a positive atmosphere that makes our guests feel comfortable, safe and inspired.

Here a hint for your next stay ask us to park your car for you our valet service is free and we would love to take that task off your hands.

Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    173
    55
    27
    20
See reviews for
117
159
22
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hayes Mansion is gorgeous, and historically significant. The hotel developers have done an excellent job of retaining that, while enhancing the property with the things needed to make a small, modern, comfortable conference hotel. It's a surprise to find, as you come in through residential neighborhoods

Very pleased with the overall comfort and convenience. The breakfast buffet is also quite nice, with a very good selection of fruits and non traditional items in addition to the usual fare. The staff does a good job as well.

I am a jaded traveler, on the road 45-50 weeks a year and it takes a lot to get me to say more than "meh"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
45 to 50 weeks a year, whew, now thats on the road. Its makes it all the more satisfying to know that someone as seasoned as yourself noticed us, our property and what we do.

Thank you.

There is no better way to reinforce the importance of our role in our guests experience than to share your comments with our staff. Our efforts and standards are focused on making our guests feel as if they are guests in our home. For a traveler such as yourself this standard can make all the difference.

We really appreciate your comments.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Hayes Mansion is an important part of the history of San Jose and the Blossom Hill Area. It’s wonderful that the building has been preserved. The main part of the hotel is beautiful historic, but the rooms are dated. In the rooms, the beds and pillow are comfortable, but the carpet and curtains are old. The bathroom has dated tile and fixtures. However, it does include two sinks -- very convenient when sharing the room -- one in the shower/toilet room and a separate sink just outside. The in-room safe is old and not big enough for laptops. Wi-fi is fast and reliable. The breakfast buffet has a few tasty options, but the air was so cold in the restaurant (we visited in February) that all the food was lukewarm. When the rooms are finally updated, this place could be top-notch.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the wonderful comment and the constructive feedback. I have forwarded your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager Amber Russell, Chief Engineer Jack Jackson and Yves Hansel. They will look into your concerns and address as necessary and possible.

Thank you once again for your comments we truely appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We love the Hayes Mansion! This Hotel not only has history, and is such a unique hotel, but it has a wonderful staff, awesome location (hidden in a suburban neighborhood, yet close to everything in Silicon Valley/South Bay/San Jose). My husband and I live in San Jose, and had our wedding at the Hayes Mansion, which has such beautiful grounds and great facilities! We hold this Hotel dear to our heart, and always take mini weekend getaways to this hotel, because it is so close to home. The food in their bar and restaurant is wonderful! The staff is always warm and accommodating to your needs. We have been fortunate to be able to stay in one of their large suites, which as a huge white, old fashioned clawfoot bathtub. Very romantic and spacious room. This hotel also has a cozy bar/lounge with fireplace this is very nice if you feel like just having a nice place to relax and have a drink and wonderful appetizers! There is also a "hidden" huge area on the bottom floor of the hotel that a couple pool tables, a bar, and an area for gaming/poker. The bar is usually only open/staffed if you pay to rent the room, however, if you happen to go there on a night when no one rents the room, you are still able to use the rooms and play pool. It is such a great, spacious hotel. It's a really cool place, because it's a historical landmark that used to be a mansion owned by the Hayes Family in the late 1800's. It's seems to be mixture architecturally of a Mediterranean and Victorian style. About 30 years ago, when I was just a child (yes, that does date me quite a bit! ) , the Hayes Mansion was boarded up and dilapidated. It was overgrown with weeds and had broken windows, and seemed quite spooky. But once it was purchased and renovated, and turned into a conference center and hotel, it became the unique gem that it is today. Just gorgeous! and they kept much of the original style and architecture, which is what makes it so wonderful! If you are looking for the most unique, best hotel, with the greatest service and food in San Jose, then Dolce Hayes Mansion is your place! If you are looking for an amazing place to get married, or have a party, Hayes Mansions is your place! Love, Love, Love It! :)

Room Tip: We love the Mansion Suites! They are a great value and really give you a great experience at the Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place is tucked away in a residential area, so it's quite and peaceful. When you drive up, it a real beauty. The grounds are the strong point and they have done a great job of creating a very inviting exterior with many areas to peacefully sit and relax. The rooms are comfortable and a bit small. Good pillows, mattress, and linens. I've been in 2 buildings and the one in the conference center had noisy heater and there seemed to be a constant fan in the bath. The building in the back is wonderfully quite and the heater wasn't an issue. Even with the door closed, I could hear it. Check in is very quick and they have always been very courteous. I had breakfast and it's a very good buffet. Service for beverages can be a bit slow since the room can get quite full and there are not many servers. As for surrounding restaurants or things to do, you'll have to drive. It's a bit remote, but if you need to be in the area it's a good place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our property. We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, our staff is truly our greatest asset. However, we apologize for the noise from the fan in your restroom, if we could find out what room you stayed in we could narrow down our search for repair. If you have a preference to room location be sure to mention it to our wonderful agents the next time you book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently stayed two nights at this beautiful Mansion for a tech conference at the nearby IBM research center. The main Building of the Mansion is beautiful. i loved the cocktail bar and the reading room. Free valet parking and free wifi everywhere are great. The room I stayed on the second floor was a bit letdown. it's like a typical holiday inn room but cleaner. The worst experience of my stay is at the breakfast. They were short staffs and I had to shout out loud to get my coffee refills.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near an ice maker. I had to request a change of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our grounds and public space. We apologize for the experience you had at our breakfast outlet and have a great staff improving the quality of our buffet everyday. We hope to see you again soon to inspire a positive impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are on a honeymoon. Drove from San Francisco to here and found the surroundings serene, nice n peaceful with a charm. It is an escape from the bustling city and we wished for 1 more night of stay

Breakfast buffet is good with a view of the pool. Juices and coffee on my cup are regularly topped up. It is a pity I did not get to try the heated pool as the itinerary was too packed.

We found the location super as it is a very short drive to San Jose airport which we flew out to vegas. Easy to drive and park in Hayes mansion

Rooms are good sized. Clean n complimentary wifi

Had some issues with shower drainage and that was speedily taken care of by the staff ;)

Room Tip: Do not bring along your luggage when checking in. Rooms could be a short drive away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Address: 200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Hayes Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.