We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hidden Gem in Silicon Valley. Gorgeous and Unique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Save Saved
You added Dolce Hayes Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dolce Hayes Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 72 hotels in San Jose
San Jose, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hidden Gem in Silicon Valley. Gorgeous and Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We love the Hayes Mansion! This Hotel not only has history, and is such a unique hotel, but it has a wonderful staff, awesome location (hidden in a suburban neighborhood, yet close to everything in Silicon Valley/South Bay/San Jose). My husband and I live in San Jose, and had our wedding at the Hayes Mansion, which has such beautiful grounds and great facilities! We hold this Hotel dear to our heart, and always take mini weekend getaways to this hotel, because it is so close to home. The food in their bar and restaurant is wonderful! The staff is always warm and accommodating to your needs. We have been fortunate to be able to stay in one of their large suites, which as a huge white, old fashioned clawfoot bathtub. Very romantic and spacious room. This hotel also has a cozy bar/lounge with fireplace this is very nice if you feel like just having a nice place to relax and have a drink and wonderful appetizers! There is also a "hidden" huge area on the bottom floor of the hotel that a couple pool tables, a bar, and an area for gaming/poker. The bar is usually only open/staffed if you pay to rent the room, however, if you happen to go there on a night when no one rents the room, you are still able to use the rooms and play pool. It is such a great, spacious hotel. It's a really cool place, because it's a historical landmark that used to be a mansion owned by the Hayes Family in the late 1800's. It's seems to be mixture architecturally of a Mediterranean and Victorian style. About 30 years ago, when I was just a child (yes, that does date me quite a bit! ) , the Hayes Mansion was boarded up and dilapidated. It was overgrown with weeds and had broken windows, and seemed quite spooky. But once it was purchased and renovated, and turned into a conference center and hotel, it became the unique gem that it is today. Just gorgeous! and they kept much of the original style and architecture, which is what makes it so wonderful! If you are looking for the most unique, best hotel, with the greatest service and food in San Jose, then Dolce Hayes Mansion is your place! If you are looking for an amazing place to get married, or have a party, Hayes Mansions is your place! Love, Love, Love It! :)

Room Tip: We love the Mansion Suites! They are a great value and really give you a great experience at the Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    133
    35
    21
    12
See reviews for
89
121
17
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place is tucked away in a residential area, so it's quite and peaceful. When you drive up, it a real beauty. The grounds are the strong point and they have done a great job of creating a very inviting exterior with many areas to peacefully sit and relax. The rooms are comfortable and a bit small. Good pillows, mattress, and linens. I've been in 2 buildings and the one in the conference center had noisy heater and there seemed to be a constant fan in the bath. The building in the back is wonderfully quite and the heater wasn't an issue. Even with the door closed, I could hear it. Check in is very quick and they have always been very courteous. I had breakfast and it's a very good buffet. Service for beverages can be a bit slow since the room can get quite full and there are not many servers. As for surrounding restaurants or things to do, you'll have to drive. It's a bit remote, but if you need to be in the area it's a good place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our property. We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, our staff is truly our greatest asset. However, we apologize for the noise from the fan in your restroom, if we could find out what room you stayed in we could narrow down our search for repair. If you have a preference to room location be sure to mention it to our wonderful agents the next time you book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently stayed two nights at this beautiful Mansion for a tech conference at the nearby IBM research center. The main Building of the Mansion is beautiful. i loved the cocktail bar and the reading room. Free valet parking and free wifi everywhere are great. The room I stayed on the second floor was a bit letdown. it's like a typical holiday inn room but cleaner. The worst experience of my stay is at the breakfast. They were short staffs and I had to shout out loud to get my coffee refills.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near an ice maker. I had to request a change of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our grounds and public space. We apologize for the experience you had at our breakfast outlet and have a great staff improving the quality of our buffet everyday. We hope to see you again soon to inspire a positive impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are on a honeymoon. Drove from San Francisco to here and found the surroundings serene, nice n peaceful with a charm. It is an escape from the bustling city and we wished for 1 more night of stay

Breakfast buffet is good with a view of the pool. Juices and coffee on my cup are regularly topped up. It is a pity I did not get to try the heated pool as the itinerary was too packed.

We found the location super as it is a very short drive to San Jose airport which we flew out to vegas. Easy to drive and park in Hayes mansion

Rooms are good sized. Clean n complimentary wifi

Had some issues with shower drainage and that was speedily taken care of by the staff ;)

Room Tip: Do not bring along your luggage when checking in. Rooms could be a short drive away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here enroute to Hawaii. It is a long way from the airport, which we did not know. The hotel charges for shuttle service. They will charge $30.00 each way to your room, but the taxi fare is $40.00. However taxi is right there and the shuttle would have been 30-45 minutes wait.
The trek to our room with luggage was rather long, but once we were in the room it was wonderful. Very nice room with comfortable bed and very clean. Sofa, chairs, coffee and great shower. Had robes to use which was nice too.
The bar was fun and full of friendly people. We spent the evening there and enjoyed drinks and appies.

We had an early flight and had to be at the airport at 6am so the free buffet breakfast we could not use because it does not start until 6:30 which was too bad. We had to purchase a bagel at the airport. We also asked for wake up service and a taxi because the shuttle does not accommodate early flights. They don't start until 7am.
I would not stay here again due to the inconvience and distance from the airport. Also there is nothing around the hotel so if you don't have a car you are stuck there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our rooms and time spent here on the property in our Palm Plaza Lounge.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of information you recieved regarding our shuttle service charge and the hours of operation. i will check what we have as information and address so that going forward we have our shuttle information clearly visible.

Thank you again for your review they are very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We love staying at the Hayes Mansion. Excellent service, clean & comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds, quiet, well maintained property, good food, complimentary wi-fi and parking - what more could you need? We especially enjoy the breakfast buffet, which offers a wide variety of food choices for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed there for 2 weeks in jan 2013, the place is really a mansion with a lovely landscape and heated pool .. The rooms were nice and clean , didn't try food but the hotel was really quiet and looking good .

The staff were nice , they had free parking as well

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel
Address: 200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Hayes Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.