We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Save Saved
You added Dolce Hayes Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolce Hayes Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are on a honeymoon. Drove from San Francisco to here and found the surroundings serene, nice n peaceful with a charm. It is an escape from the bustling city and we wished for 1 more night of stay

Breakfast buffet is good with a view of the pool. Juices and coffee on my cup are regularly topped up. It is a pity I did not get to try the heated pool as the itinerary was too packed.

We found the location super as it is a very short drive to San Jose airport which we flew out to vegas. Easy to drive and park in Hayes mansion

Rooms are good sized. Clean n complimentary wifi

Had some issues with shower drainage and that was speedily taken care of by the staff ;)

Room Tip: Do not bring along your luggage when checking in. Rooms could be a short drive away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    151
    41
    24
    16
See reviews for
105
141
20
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here enroute to Hawaii. It is a long way from the airport, which we did not know. The hotel charges for shuttle service. They will charge $30.00 each way to your room, but the taxi fare is $40.00. However taxi is right there and the shuttle would have been 30-45 minutes wait.
The trek to our room with luggage was rather long, but once we were in the room it was wonderful. Very nice room with comfortable bed and very clean. Sofa, chairs, coffee and great shower. Had robes to use which was nice too.
The bar was fun and full of friendly people. We spent the evening there and enjoyed drinks and appies.

We had an early flight and had to be at the airport at 6am so the free buffet breakfast we could not use because it does not start until 6:30 which was too bad. We had to purchase a bagel at the airport. We also asked for wake up service and a taxi because the shuttle does not accommodate early flights. They don't start until 7am.
I would not stay here again due to the inconvience and distance from the airport. Also there is nothing around the hotel so if you don't have a car you are stuck there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our rooms and time spent here on the property in our Palm Plaza Lounge.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of information you recieved regarding our shuttle service charge and the hours of operation. i will check what we have as information and address so that going forward we have our shuttle information clearly visible.

Thank you again for your review they are very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We love staying at the Hayes Mansion. Excellent service, clean & comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds, quiet, well maintained property, good food, complimentary wi-fi and parking - what more could you need? We especially enjoy the breakfast buffet, which offers a wide variety of food choices for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed there for 2 weeks in jan 2013, the place is really a mansion with a lovely landscape and heated pool .. The rooms were nice and clean , didn't try food but the hotel was really quiet and looking good .

The staff were nice , they had free parking as well

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I recently attended a conference at this facility. Everything from the accommodations to the meeting facilities was excellent. Check-in and check-out was fast and easy. The food served buffet style for our attendees was great. A wide variety was offered at each meal and all the selections I tried were well prepared and delicious. The grounds were lovely and very well maintained. Recommend highly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was so pleased with this hotel because check-in was a breeze and they upgraded our room for free and included breakfast vouchers for both days. Hotel is in a beautiful area and is wonderful to walk around. Would highly recommend this hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is exactly what I expected. It has been around for over 100 years. The hotel has been renovated and upgraded while keeping its history and traditions. The estate is pretty well kept. Walking around can be a maze. The rooms are somewhat older. The carpets look like they have not been changed. The beds are mediocre. The duvets and pillows could use a changing. The bathroom looks like they need to be renovated. If you set your expectations early, you will not be disappointed with your stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to submit a review. I am sorry that our property did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to leave every guest with a positive lasting memory of their time with us. We hope that you will consider us again the next time that you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Address: 200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Hayes Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.