We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - and a great spot for runners!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arena Hotel to your Saves list
Arena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great value - and a great spot for runners!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you travel to the Silicon Valley, you know that business hotels can be very expensive - and without many frills. I booked a room at the Arena Hotel for a recent one-night stay in the Valley - and I found the hotel to be a pleasant surprise.

My flight arrived very late at night - and I was glad to have booked a hotel that was just 5 minutes from San Jose Airport. There was plenty of free parking available when I arrived at the hotel, and the person at the reception desk was courteous and efficient. Within 2 minutes of arriving, I was checked in and headed to my room.

The decor at the hotel is definitely dated - but it's not shabby or run down. It's just dated.

Upon entering the room, the first thing that I noticed was that the room was larger than standard business hotel rooms - which are typically very efficient, but pretty small. The Arena Hotel room was not huge, but I could tell that it had a couple of extra feet in width and length. The room was very clean, and it included a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. The room also had a large jacuzzi tub - and while you may be thinking "that's gross" - it was actually very modern and clean.

The internet at the hotel was very fast and easy to access. The free breakfast at the hotel was served in a very large dining room. The food was a nice assortment that included eggs, sausage, potatoes, pancakes, french toast, yogurt, cereal, milk, juice and coffee. Everything that I tried tasted good.

Whenever possible, I like to go running when I travel. The Arena Hotel - while on a busy street - is located just 2 blocks from the Guadalupe River Trail that is a protected (no cars!) running/biking path that extends for MILES through trees and grassy areas along the Guadalupe River. I really enjoyed a surprisingly serene run on the trail in the morning despite being in the middle of the Silicon Valley.

In summary, while not "contemporary" or "chic" - the Arena Hotel is a rock solid deal for business travelers in the Valley. If you are a runner - it's a no brainer.

Room Tip: The hotel is only two stories - so I don't think any of the rooms have views. My room was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    90
    44
    35
    24
See reviews for
43
55
32
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went to an event at the HP Pavilion and this was a quick 5 minute walk which was my main reason for choosing it. Many other reviews were dead on... very clean but outdated decor for example pink tile! Staff wasn't entirely friendly and the a/c was way too loud and obnoxious. But if you are interested in location and price and cleanliness this is the place to stay! There is a cute little courtyard to sit and have breakfast and although we were generally in a hurry in the morning and didn't have time for the complimentary breakfast, it made the lobby smell fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood Valley, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance to HP pavilion. Can't beat the location. Staff is friendly. Rooms are dated but clean. We skip the fee breakfast as there are nicer places to eat within walking distance. Overall quiet night sleep and great for families just in town for a quick event.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has great value for what you pay, when you factor in the free parking, free breakfast and location it's really a good deal. Rooms were ok, definitely adequate, especially for only a couple of nights.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Arena Hotel is well located for any number of activities in downtown San Jose. It's relatively easy to get to also with attractive rates. I loved the idea of a 2 person Jacuzzi too in my room. But my room was not at all clean, and the carpet was badly stained and very loose. There was a peeling ceiling that had obviously leaked. But the bed was quite possibly the worst I've ever tried to sleep in! Way too soft and sagging with pillows that were so hard they made my neck hurt. The sink was chipped and stained. If you can get past all of that, yes, there was a so so breakfast, but this morning they were out of every juice except guava and the sausages were so hard you might have broken a tooth. But it was free and so is parking. I wanted to give the hotel a better rating because of the location and price (and the Jacuzzi) but the run down nature, HORRIBLE bed and outright dirtiness will only allow me a poor rating. Sad really.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I'm was visiting from oc ca going to see the sharks play at the HP Pavilion. Great location with less then 1/2 mile walking distance to the arena. Which means saving $15 to $20 in parking fee at the arena. Hotel itself is ok but more then adequate. The front desk people were all very nice and so was the cleaning lady. No restaurant on site but plenty of places to eat within a short walking distance. Free breakfast was your typical continental breakfast. Jacuzzi tub is nice. BUT if you have senior citizen who have a hard time getting in and out of the tub, I wouldn't recommend this place. For most people who needs a place in this location, I would defnitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

In honor of full disclosure the only reason we stay at The Arena Hotel every other year for the NCAA Basketball Playoffs at HP Pavilion which is within walking distance. The Arena is an average hotel and unless ownership wants it to be more it never will be. Not slightly above average, although like this past weekend it could dip slightly below average, but I suspect it will always be average. Of course it is priced accordingly and parking is free. The fact that it is within walking distance of a gentrifying neighborhood with a bunch of cool shops and eateries and a10 minute walk to Downtown San Jose and the Caltrain Station are huge bonuses.

Here iare two examples of how management takes its eye off the ball. First, and most irritating, the hotel advertises WiFi. While I was on a pleasure trip I'm never far away from having to give attention to business. Well, the WiFi was out and nobody seemed to be in too much of a hurry to fix it. The front desk had no sense of urgency and according to one of the less than service oriented desk and sour attitude staff the manager really didn't give crap. The WiFi was supposedly being "worked on" for 3 of the 4 days I was there and did go up very briefly Friday evening but by Saturday morning it was down again. The same front desk person gain threw up his hands in a"not my problem" stance. The other example that will keep The Arena merely average is the hotel was full to the brim with attendees for the NCAABasketball playoffs. There is a great community rom on the ground floor where free breakfast is served with a large screen TV and comfortable seating. Friday was the in between day with games going on elsewhere in the country (games in San Jose were Thursday and Saturday) and Saturday most of us were checking out at 11 a.m.with games in San Jose not starting until 5 hours after checkout. Do you think management thought about, for the comfort of its guests, opening up the community room to watch the games and have a place to stay for those 5 hours? Not a chance!

The Good
Comfortable rooms
Great location
Free parking
Free breakfast

The Bad
Tired decor
Doesn't exactly exude cleanliness
One elevator for a large hotel that can take irritatingly long to arrive
Spotty attitudes of the front desk staff

The Ugly
Lack of attention to simple details
Management is asleep at the switch

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as it can be noisy. If you sleep with the window open, as we do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Address: 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95120
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Hotel features 89 spacious guestrooms offering floor plans from Deluxe King Rooms, Double Queen Rooms, to Deluxe suites. We offer corporate rates, AARP rates, and extended stay rates. We are located within walking distance to downtown San Jose and HP Pavilion. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast and dinner services during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel San Jose
Arena San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.