We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 72 hotels in San Jose
WA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location for the HP Pavilion with decent prices, which is why we booked there. The grounds look good, but the hallways and rooms are tired and run down (scuff marks on walls, visible patches), although not actually dirty.The front desk staff was helpful. The breakfast isn't so great, but it is free. (I watched the attendant microwave the frozen pancakes without removing them from the plastic wrapper first. Eww.) There are numerous signs saying not to remove food from the breakfast area, but several people walked out with several full plates and they never said anything. The area was fine during the day, but sketchy at night. If you are going to an event at the Pavilion, you are probably fine to walk back at night as there will be so many other people doing the same thing. Otherwise, I would drive where you need to go after dark. They keep the hotel doors locked at night. There is guest laundry available at I believe $2 per load to wash or dry.

Overall, it is a budget property, and as long as you are not expecting more, it serves its purpose well and is a good option. We would stay there again if we attend another event at the HP Pavilion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    75
    37
    28
    18
See reviews for
34
43
29
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

And the location! Partner and I stayed here while in town for a concery at the very close by HP Pavillion. Room was clean, if a tad dated but is not a detractor as the main selling points is a roof over my head. The jacuzzi and the awesome bed are just major bonuses when you drive a long ways to be there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for a concert at the HP Pavillion. The Pavillion is about 1500 feet away, easy walk. The Hotel is decent, and served its purpose. I will stay here again if I attend another event at the Pavillion. The breakfast had several selections, but note that it is all microwaved food, so make your selections with that in mind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stay here whenever we are in town for a Sharks game because the HP Pavillion is a 5 min walk from the hotel. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms could use some updating and maintenance. The rates are always reasonable and the parking is FREE.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here a couple of times recently and it's a great location--close to downtown San Jose, the HP Pavilion and Santa Clara University. It's a quick drive from the airport and convenient to most freeways. The hotel is a bit dated but the room decor has been updated somewhat recently. They could stand to remodel the bathrooms and the hotel lobby but for the price, it's clean, quiet and convenient. I'd stay here again should the need arise.

Room Tip: If there's an event at HP Pavilion, ask to be on the top floor away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were in town for the Carrie Underwood concert at the HP Pavillion in October.
The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the venue and also offers free parking.
Check in was friendly and quick.
The room was a king deluxe and was large, clean and comfortable and also had a microwave and a (noisy) fridge. The hallways needed to be vacuumed.
Breakfast was included but was very basic. The food didn't have a wow factor and it appeared that the "hot"? food had been sitting around for a while. Paper plates and bowls and plastic knives and forks - but it was free and the room rate was cheap so it's a case of you get what you pay for.
The hotel generally has a tired appearence and could probably do with a refurb.
But if you need a bed for the night following an event at the Pavillion you can't really go wrong staying here - we would come back should we ever be in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were scheduled to stay at the Arena from December 27th through the 29th. The Arena was the best value hotel we found for these dates in San Jose after researching many other locations. The Arena also has FREE parking! One of the other hotels we looked into charges $26 per day for parking.

On the 26th our family in the area told us that we could stay at their house after all. The Arena Hotel graciously allowed us to cancel our reservation without penalty. Should we need a hotel in San Jose, we would not hesitate in choosing the Arena Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Address: 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95120
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Hotel features 89 spacious guestrooms offering floor plans from Deluxe King Rooms, Double Queen Rooms, to Deluxe suites. We offer corporate rates, AARP rates, and extended stay rates. We are located within walking distance to downtown San Jose and HP Pavilion. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast and dinner services during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel San Jose
Arena San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.