We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arena Hotel to your Saves list
Arena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stay here whenever we are in town for a Sharks game because the HP Pavillion is a 5 min walk from the hotel. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms could use some updating and maintenance. The rates are always reasonable and the parking is FREE.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    82
    38
    32
    21
See reviews for
38
48
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here a couple of times recently and it's a great location--close to downtown San Jose, the HP Pavilion and Santa Clara University. It's a quick drive from the airport and convenient to most freeways. The hotel is a bit dated but the room decor has been updated somewhat recently. They could stand to remodel the bathrooms and the hotel lobby but for the price, it's clean, quiet and convenient. I'd stay here again should the need arise.

Room Tip: If there's an event at HP Pavilion, ask to be on the top floor away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were in town for the Carrie Underwood concert at the HP Pavillion in October.
The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the venue and also offers free parking.
Check in was friendly and quick.
The room was a king deluxe and was large, clean and comfortable and also had a microwave and a (noisy) fridge. The hallways needed to be vacuumed.
Breakfast was included but was very basic. The food didn't have a wow factor and it appeared that the "hot"? food had been sitting around for a while. Paper plates and bowls and plastic knives and forks - but it was free and the room rate was cheap so it's a case of you get what you pay for.
The hotel generally has a tired appearence and could probably do with a refurb.
But if you need a bed for the night following an event at the Pavillion you can't really go wrong staying here - we would come back should we ever be in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were scheduled to stay at the Arena from December 27th through the 29th. The Arena was the best value hotel we found for these dates in San Jose after researching many other locations. The Arena also has FREE parking! One of the other hotels we looked into charges $26 per day for parking.

On the 26th our family in the area told us that we could stay at their house after all. The Arena Hotel graciously allowed us to cancel our reservation without penalty. Should we need a hotel in San Jose, we would not hesitate in choosing the Arena Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The pros:
The best night's sleep ever: very comfortable bed and pillows
Room is super spacious
Room is super clean
Fridge/ microwave/ coffee pot
Predictable gratis breakfast
Easy walk in heels to the HP Pavillion
Off street parking

The Cons:
Halls need vacuuming
Common areas beg for some sprucing up
Toilet runs
Fridge 'pings' continually
Had to ask for wash cloths and coffee cups
Fitted sheet pulled off the bed exposing mattress
Shower head needs soaked in CLR
Light bulb over sink is burned out

Bottom line. This isn't the destination, it's a place to sleep and shower. There is nothing closer. For just at $100/night., it's safe and clean where it needs to be.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. As others have noted, it is close to downtown -- I walked there in about 10 minutes -- and very close to HP Pavillion. The lobby and rooms have the sickly sweet stench of industrial-strength cleaning products. Most areas of the hotel are reasonably clean, though not incredibly so: I found a cleaning-person's hair stuck to the "sanitized for your protection" band around the toilet seat, and another (which appeared to be from the same person) stuck to one of my bath towels. The jacuzzi tub was ridiculously large, and the sliding shower door had to be lifted off of its rail and replaced to close the shower.

I suspect the people who think the breakfast was great eat a lot of microwaveable and instant food. That's pretty much what was on offer: Reheated frozen French toast and pancakes, sausage links, pre-cooked bacon, instant scrambled eggs, pouches of instant oatmeal, canned fruit, etc. Quite a lot of the food seems to go straight into the garbage after a couple of bites. There's tip jar in case you feel like leaving a little cash for the invisible staff of this "restaurant." I highly recommend skipping the breakfast and going across the street to Hannah's Cafe -- it isn't free, but you'll get a wonderful breakfast for the same or less than what you would pay at a downtown hotel.

There is not a lot in area around the hotel, and aside from Hannah's and the Bluefin (also across the street), the closest restaurants will be found about a 5-minute walk up The Alameda in the direction away from the arena. The neighborhood looks a bit sketchy and it is not exactly crowded, but even a couple of hours after dark there were still people walking alone and even women jogging solo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recently stayed three nights at the Arena Hotel. It is close to, but not in, downtown San Jose and very close to the HP Pavilion. While it definitely needs to be updated, it was clean and the room was large. I was in a two queen room on the third floor. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub/shower which was very large. The bed was very comfortable and toiletries were provided. The room also had a small refrigerator/freezer, coffeemaker, microwave, hairdryer, ironing board/iron, and a small desk area. The Wi-Fi was free. They had HBO on the TV, but no option to purchase movies. My room overlooked the interior courtyard so there was no street noise. Another bonus is that it has its own parking so you do not have to pay extra like you would downtown. Breakfast was provided as well. It wasn't fancy, but it covered what most people would be looking for. The staff was friendly and helpful. As a woman traveling alone, I would not have walked around the area at night. They lock the front doors from 10 p.m. to 7 a.m. and you use your room key to get in. The area is a little on the fringe. But, I would go back because of the comfort, the price and having parking and breakfast included with the room. I have certainly paid a lot more in the area and got less for my money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Address: 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95120
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Hotel features 89 spacious guestrooms offering floor plans from Deluxe King Rooms, Double Queen Rooms, to Deluxe suites. We offer corporate rates, AARP rates, and extended stay rates. We are located within walking distance to downtown San Jose and HP Pavilion. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast and dinner services during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel San Jose
Arena San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.