We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley
10 West Trimble Road, San Jose, CA 95131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Weekend Savings
Ranked #3 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Spring Hill, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great property, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked this property on Hotwire and got a great rate. The check-in process was quick and easy and the suite was terrific. Great kitchen, living room with fireplace, and spacious bedroom. There was even great closet space, too.

The only disappointment was with the breakfast. I went down to eat at about 8:30, and there was very little food left. There were no more scrambled eggs, potatoes, fruit, or even waffle batter. There were only a few pieces of sausage and some bread for toast. There also were no clean plates or silverware. It stayed this way for nearly 40 minutes when I decided to leave.

Given that the management knows how many rooms were sold for the night, you would think they would staff appropriately to handle the guests. Sadly, no staff seemed to care that the situation was as described.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    78
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
88
27
24
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Family stayed here for only 1 night with 2 high school students (went on college visit), this is one of the best hotels in the Hilton chain (we usually stay within the Hilton chain)! Very big rooms (2 large bedrooms with queen beds AND a full bathroom in each bedroom, large living/dining room and nice kitchen area). Nice pool (a little small, but nice place to refresh), and great breakfast. We used HHonor points to stay for free, but the price is very reasonable if I was to book the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel multiple times from 1 week to 4 weeks. Extremely comfortable rooms and decent breakfast. The complimentary dinners from Mon to Thu are a bonus though the food tends to be a bit on the "junk" side. Excellent service and the free shuttle service really helps. The gym is a bit cramped and has only 3 pieces of equipment.
The folks managing the reception are a mixed lot - while all are polite, some clearly want you out of their hair as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I will not even consider another hotel after staying here. The food was great at the breakfast and an evening reception with beer and wine is included. The location allowed us to visit San Fran,Napa Valley, Pebble Beach, San Jose, Stanford University, and Santa Cruz. All within a short drive. Great Location and wonderful employees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our overnight stay here was wonderful. My son said that this was the best hotel breakfast he has ever had! The staff was friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. Each room of our suite had its own television, so the kids were able to watch their own programs. You can't do this in a standard hotel room! And for the same price. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I were on a business trip and we had our two young children, who are 8 & 6 years old along with us. The suites offered enough space and privacy that was comparable to a 1 bedroom apartment. The kitchen offered a good sized fridge, larger than a normal hotel, microwave, stove top and enough bare essentials and place settings for up to 4. There is no oven, this is good to know before heading out to the grocery store. At the end of the day the kids looked forward to a swim in the pool. This hotel was very clean, in a safe area next to the airport and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was an okay way to start the day for the first couple of days. After a few to many mornings of powdered eggs and hotel food with an airplane like quality, you will need food that contains nutrients. Although it's a great jump start even if you just grab a cup of coffee. Instead grab a bite of breakfast at a local joint called "Bills" an excellent spot with the locals. For lunch there is a mini strip mall right next door. Walk over and find a variety of Pho', Indian Food, Greek, Subway, Starbucks, Thai and more all at reasonable prices. The comp dinner was not as enjoyable, we made sure to eat out or cook up our own meal. Happy hour was a plus, complimentary beer or wine and head out to the pool and let the kids burn some energy while the grown ups relax. All in all, a great place to stay if you need a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodsuitesS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Shannon K,

You mentioned it, our motto is "Your Home Away from Home" and we hope you come back soon and relax while the kids play at the pool. "Bills" is an excellent breakfast eatery, next time try 'Cafe Rosalena's' which is quite close to Bills. For groceries, we can also do the shopping for you, just as simple as filling out the grocery list and we'll have them delivered to your room.
Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I wish I could give it a score of 3.5 because overall our experience was good and a little above average.

To start off we felt that the staff were all very helpful and nice especially the lady in charge of the breakfast. She was very accommodating and went the extra mile for our kids.

I think there are things that my family and I definitely appreciated about this stay unfortunately location was not one of them.

I figure lets get the not so positive stuff out of the way. For business travelers this location probably works just fine. Its very close to the airport and many tech companies and business parks. (I wish I had a place like this at this price point to stay when I am working in Vancouver BC.)
But for a family like mine (myself, wife and 4 sons) not so great and off the beaten path.
Also even though free breakfast is nice, quality of food is sub par. The cabinets inside our room were old and pretty disappointing (like an old apartment with 10 layers of white paint to just cover it up). Lastly it would be so nice if they had a larger eating table in their suites with seating for more than just 2 people.

Now on to the positive
So we got one of their 1 bedroom suites which was overall pretty spacious and very good for our family. It had a nice fireplace with a complementary bag of fire wood ready to burn and a relatively nice kitchen (dated but functional; although they could rethink their choice of dishes and utensils). It was clean overall with comfortable beds, lots of closet space throughout, a decent tv in both the living room and bedroom as well as powerful dual zone heating and cooling. In the bathroom there were nice Neutrogena bath amenities and a kinda neat hair dryer with a built in night light. The onsite gym is really small; just big enough for one maybe two people to stretch and do some cardio. Being into fitness I asked about the gym ahead of time and they said it was modest but that if I needed more they had a complimentary relationship with a local gym that I could take advantage of. Look for that in a separate review called "Club One Fitness is pretty awesome".
The pool and hot tub are a little small for the size of the property and number of rooms but it was cool and had 2 BBQ grills. The hotel is right next to a strip mall with several eateries of different ethnicities so there is a nice variety unfortunately most of the food was mediocre at best.

Overall a nice comfortable stay that if in a better location could be an ideal place for families on a budget. It definitely is not awesome but very functional and a great price.

Cheers

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodsuitesS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Anthonybarcelo_LA

Thank you for choosing our hotel and appreciate the feedback you have left us, we'll be sure to look into the items that you have pointed out to us.
Our entire staff is grateful for the wonderful comments especially Kathy, our breakfast hostess .
Thank you once again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley

Address: 10 West Trimble Road, San Jose, CA 95131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport is an upscale, all-suite hotel located less than two miles from the SJC Airport and only four miles from downtown San Jose. Our upscale suites are the perfect base for you while in the San Jose area for business, pleasure, relocation, or on an extended assignment that requires residential apartment like accommodations to make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley Hotel San Jose
Homewood Suites San Jose
Homewood San Jose
Hilton San Jose
San Jose Hilton
San Jose Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.