We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Nice Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley
10 West Trimble Road, San Jose, CA 95131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Weekend Savings
Ranked #2 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Marana, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always A Nice Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is one of the older Homewood Suites in California. There were several minor maintenance problems that should have been caught by housekeeping, but were taken care of after they were brought to management's attention. It is lacking the icemaker and soda bar found in many of the Suites. The food was very good, with a nice vartiety every day. The staff was friendly and willing to help. Thought it was slightly overpriced, but that would not keep me from going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    73
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
82
26
23
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canta barbara, Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My family & I visited the Bay Area to attend a Giants game & stayed at the Homewood Suites San Jose. Great covenient location to HWY 101 and into SF. Clean rooms & grounds, great breakfast. You can tell that the rooms had a recent upgrade completed, as they are fresh and modern. Will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Spacious rooms at a great price! This was a wonderful stay for us on our three-week tour of Western United States. We didn't use the kitchenette, but it looked like it had all one would need. The rooms had separate sleeping areas and living rooms. The bathrooms were enormous with a large shower / toilet room and an expansive sink / dressing area. The only odd thing was that we stayed in a building separate from the main building where you check in and have breakfast. The breakfast was good, well stocked, and the attendant was quick to replace items as needed. Staff were very helpful - we got locked out of our room at one point - and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
How wonderful that you took a three-week tour of the Western United States and gives us great joy that we were part of that trip. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope it was as comfortable as being in your own home but while on vacation. We apologize for the inconvenience of being locked out of your room but again, I'm overjoyed that our staff was very helpful. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Homewood San Jose on a family vacation to see the gymnastic Olympic trials. My wife and I like Homewood when we vacation, more room for our 2 kids, and more for us. I really liked the layout of this hotel, a bit older, more like a motel in that there were 5-6 individual units or blocks of rooms. This was an older hotel, but still had the typical "Homewood" feel. Breakfast served each morning, nice pool and hot tube that the kids both enjoyed. Only real complaint was the beds, our king mattress sages on my side, and the fold out bed for the kids was really uneven....funny thing was when my wife and I tested the sofa bed we felt the kids were going to be miserable, but they both said they loved the bed......shows how much we know! Downtown was only a 5 mind rive on Hwy 87. I know we would stay there again if our travels take us back to the San Jose area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hope you enjoyed the Olympic trails. Here is a fun fact, we had a sweet young lady staying at our hotel the same time you were here but instead of watching the trials she participated in them, how great is that; a future olympiad. Yes, we are an older hotel, one of the first built but our goal in everyway is give you that "Homewood" feel. I apologize for the beds not being as comfortable as they should, we will definitely look into that so when you come back, and we hope soon, you will love the beds so much you'll sleep in longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed this hotel!!! It was modern and very clean. The staff was super nice. The rooms were also very spacious! I will deff return again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Our staff is one of the friendliest around and glad it showed. Yes, please come back soon to visit and dont forget to bring the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is a mix of old and new.

Granite counter tops, but cabinets in the bathroom and kitchen are dated. Appliances are very very old, but in working order. New furniture. New carpet.

Very tiny gym: one bicycle, one treadmill, one elliptical. That's it.

Outdoor pool seemed very small, with a hot tub. Many kids at the pool, so if you come here with the family, should be ok.

Free breakfast better than average: fresh fruit (honeydew, cantaloupe, fresh pineapple, bananas, apples, and grapes one day), light yogurt, 2% and skim milk, hard boiled eggs, orange juice, in addition to the American favorites: eggs, bacon, bagels, sliced bread, coffee.

Free dinner (Mon through Thursday only, 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm) is hit and miss. Soup, salad, hard boiled eggs, juice, wine (I think it was wine, did not try it because I don't drink), and some sort of entrees: one day entree was bagels with pizza topping - horrible. Another day it was mashed potatoes with gravy, green beans and something that looked like chicken parmesan (again, I did not try it, so don't know what it was for sure). My advice: use this free dinner as an appetizer and then go somewhere else to eat.

Air conditioning is central, but some air conditioners are very old and very noisy (see attached pictures of old and new air conditioners). One particular old and noisy air conditioner worked non-stop.

Maid service very good.

Two flat screen TVs in the suite, and one game console. I think there was also a DVD player.

Free wifi and faster than average.

Efficient free shuttle in a new and clean van.

The only drawback was that at checkout the computer would not take my United Airlines frequent flyer number - said it was not in the correct format.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Homewood was one of the first built however we are always updating and renovating to keep up with the times. Ensuring that our guests always get the best when staying at a Homewood Suites. We are currently updating our rooms with brand new granite counter tops, LCD TV's, and brand new central a/c units; reason why we have new ones and older ones in several buildings. We understand that renovating causes inconveniences to all our guests so we try to be as quite as we can even if our older a/c's are not but they will soon be gone. We will shortly begin to update appliances as well. We have our complimentary Suite Start Hot Breakfast Monday through Sunday and complimentary Managers Reception Dinner Monday through Thursday including free beer and wine and you can see our complete menu posted in your room on the refrigerator. We apologize for your frequent flyer number not being added. We will look into this and make sure it doesn't happen again, we want to make you you get your double dip points when staying at the Homewood Suites and any Hilton property. Again, thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I booked here based on other TripAdvisor reviews. I had an early flight out and wanted my travel companion to be able to "opt out" of taking me to the airport. Our king suite was spacious & clean. Separate bedroom, living area with kitchenette, and another separate office space.

Our unit was a bit dark and furnishings were somewhat dated. Appliances all worked & kitchen was reasonably clean, except the main cabinet was a bit sticky on the bottom. The A/C worked fine and was quiet but the room took a long time to cool down. We received a call from the front desk shortly after check-in to make sure everything in the room was ok - nice touch!

Bed was quite comfortable and all other furnishings were standard, "good" but not "top-notch" quality. No noise at all from the airport, several decent restaurants within walking distance and a more upscale shopping area was a 5 minute uncongested drive (trip to Safeway for stocking the refrigerator).

The hotel has a free shuttle to the airport leaving every 30 minutes, making my early departure as smooth and uncomplicated as possible. Unfortunately I left before the complimentary breakfast opened at 6:00am!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley

Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley Hotel San Jose
Homewood Suites By Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley Hotel
Homewood Suites San Jose
Homewood San Jose
Hilton San Jose
San Jose Hilton
San Jose Homewood
San Jose Homewood Suites
Address: 10 West Trimble Road, San Jose, CA 95131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport is an upscale, all-suite hotel located less than two miles from the SJC Airport and only four miles from downtown San Jose. Our upscale suites are the perfect base for you while in the San Jose area for business, pleasure, relocation, or on an extended assignment that requires residential apartment like accommodations to make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose-Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.