We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the Big Apple to My Nieghborhood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosie's New York Pizza

Rosie's New York Pizza
1285 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-2649
408-292-6767
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #346 of 1,696 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $5 - $15
Restaurant details
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“From the Big Apple to My Nieghborhood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Pizza is Pizza, right? Well, no it's not! As a pizza snob I've have some really good slices and pies in the Big Apple, Italia, and with a bit of searching, the West Coast!

Rosie's does a really good Pizza!

But, they have other things too! Try a Pasta. The spaghetti and Rigatone are delicious!

Your meal would not be complete without the Garlic Knots! You might get them on your pasta plate, but just in case order some as appetizers!

Pasta Milano
Penne pasta, chicken breast, Italian sausage, sundried tomatoes, mushrooms & a creamy roasted garlic, parmesan sauce

Penne Pasta
Served with your choice of sauce: marinara, Alfredo, pesto or Bolognese (Meat sauce)

Homemade Garlic Knots
Customer Favorite! Our fresh pizza dough tied into knots tossed with fresh garlic, parsley & olive oil. Served with our homemade marinara sauce.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
494 reviews 494 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Good NY style pizza & service. You can get slices here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Good NY style pizza slices. This place is one of the handful of pizza places in the SF/SJ/OAK area that actually make authentic NY style pizza. The service was fast & good. There was plenty of street parking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Pizza in San Jose???? I dont think so...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If this is the best pizza in San Jose, I would recommend the owners to go and try a pizza in down-town.The pizza was tasteless it was lame. For the price I paid, I could probably have a better taste at Pizza Hut or Cesar's.
When I told the employee about the tasteless pizza she said "-It's pizza, what would you expecting?" She offer me garlic knots to compensate for it. I say no thanks.
I would NEVER come back or refer anybody to this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great pizza, but why have three TV's on the same channel during game day?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I don't understand some restaurant owners. Restaurants are like an old boat, something you have to sink every penny into in order to get it afloat and moving well. So, the average restaurant costs and easy million to open, so ROSIE's I have two questions...1. If you are going to buy three flat screened TV's in order to bring in sports fans, why don't you throw in a few extra bucks to pay for a better cable service so us diners can watch more than one game at a time? 2. You can not call your bar a bar! It doesn't qualify! Four seats and one tap with lousy beer choices just doesn't cut it.
The cost of adding a better cable service and beer taps is minuscule, but if you do it, you'll be the only decent sports restaurant/bar down the street from the Shark Tank. It makes no sense not to invest in such a "give me". You are doing the classic "Jumping over dollars to save pennies". Take a drive up to Los Gatos and go into Double D's. Their food is awful, but their beer selection blows yours out of the water and they have the TV thing DOWN! It's constantly packed and their food is lousy. Just imagine what kind of business you would be doing by just adding the cable service because your food is fantastic!
I am giving you these suggestions with love, I really am. I live in the neighborhood and I WANT a family owned (non-chain) restaurant to be highly successful. Your pizza, bar non is top-notch and your salads are amazing! Just imagine what you can accomplish when you listen to your customers!
BTW, CUSTOMERS: I still recommend Rosie's! The food is fantastic (get the garlic rolls!) and the staff and local cliental are always friendly. It's a nice place to have a slice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huge portions, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great food, awesome atmosphere at really reasonable prices. If you arent super hungry, an entree will easily feed two.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosie's New York Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Rosie's New York Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosie's New York Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.