We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their staff is the real star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Dimas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Dimas to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Dimas
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   485 West Arrow Drive, San Dimas, CA 91773   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Dimas
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Their staff is the real star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I just spent three nights at this hotel while visiting a nearby university with my son. There really aren't many hotels in the vicinity, so I was a bit apprehensive about what we might find. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Every single one of the staff we met was very personable and "real". They were interested in what we were doing, had great advice and responded very quickly to all of our requests and questions. Whether it was where to grab a great pizza, or how to avoid the craziest of LA traffic. No question, the staff made our stay. Give them all a raise!!
One to the nuts and bolts..... If you've stayed at a HIE previously,the style of the hotel is pretty standard. Nice outdoor pool and hot tub in the courtyard at this one, though. All of the room doors face into this courtyard, so access is only through either the lobby or a locked gate from the parking area which requires your room key for access. Beautiful flowers, lush grass, and a pretty walkway in the courtyard. Breakfast was standard, but more than adequate. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, granola, cereal, bagels, juice (passionfruit!), even an automatic pancake maker - yummy! Plenty of free parking and the town of San Dimas was clean and safe.
Room was bigger than I thought it would be. Two double beds, a sleeper sofa, desk, armchair, microwave, mini fridge, wet bar type sink. Nice wide vanity area so all three of us had room for our toiletries. Super clean bathroom!
The only items I would offer the management as areas for improvement would be the following: the tiles running around the top edge of the pool and hot tub could use a good cleaning. Carpeting in the room seemed to need a cleaning even though the rest of the room was spotless. The A/C in the room is really noisy.....hard to hear the TV when the AC is running, plus it seems to shut down and not want to restart.
Overall, I would give this hotel a big thumbs up. Price was good for California standards as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
2
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I read the reviews and was leery because of the "outside doors", but I needed a place. I was pleasantly surprised by this one.

Safety wasn't an issue once I saw what was meant by outside facing doors. All the doors are facing in, towards the pool area, not the exterior of the building ( from where I was anyway).

The room was BIG, very nice and clean. Not a monstrously big hotel.....actually pretty quaint. Im sure the noise level will pick up when the days warm up, but I'll give this one another shot when I'm back.

Plenty of eateries within a mile, big stores as well. One of my "Top 5" Holiday Inn Expresses

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

In the words of Bill and Ted, "A most excellent and bodacious" hotel! The hot tub was very relaxing. Room was very clean. I always stay here when I am in the area for business. Lots of restaurants and shopping in the area as well. You can't go wrong with the free breakfast either.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here over New Year's to attend Rose Bowl parade. We were pleasantly surprised. I had selected this hotel based on reviews from TA. Room was larger than expected with many conveniences such as microwave, small fridge. The complimentary breakfast was great although they could probably use more help as food items, including coffee, we're not always available. I know they were busy. They did get the items out but it took some time. Overall a great place to stay and great accessibility to restaurants and shopping and freeways.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We appreciated the size of the room and location. Furthermore, the front desk staff were outstanding and extremely helpful. We will make this location a destination for all future visits to the area and events.

Room Tip: The back side rooms are have a business park which had shift workers we were here on December 31, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Let me start by saying there is nothing wrong with this hotel. The room is clean and pretty comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. But there's nothing here that made me think, I have to stay here each time I'm in this area.

The property looks like it was an older hotel that has been updated. The lobby and outdoor pool and hot tub area look nice. The rooms are decent, but show some signs of the building's original age plus wear-and-tear since it's last remodel. The "soft" pillows were as lumpy as grandma's homemade oatmeal. There was a bit of mold and poor caulking around the tub/shower. In general, the hotel rooms is just not quite there, and I don't think is quite up to Holiday Inn Express standards, let alone higher standards.

The breakfast area was clean and the assortment of food was really good, as it usually is at Holiday Inn Express hotels. There's not much here for the health-conscious eater, but otherwise it is fine.

Overall, my experiencing here was fine, but I expected a bit more.

Room Tip: The top floor (3rd floor) has fewer rooms and is a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Dimas, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ColeQ,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and concerns We are happy you like our staff and comfortable rooms. Please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory stay and apologize that our hotel property and bathroom cleanliness fell below your expectations. Rest assured that these concerns will be looked into. We do hope when business or pleasure brings you back to the area, you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I booked a room with 2 queen beds because the king rooms were more than I wanted to spend. I was pleasantly surprised to find that our room (#214) was a very large suite with a sofa and desk. The room also had a microwave and refrigerator (no freezer).
I believe the hotel is fairly new and maybe that's why the bed was a little harder than I am comfortable in. Probably most people would be okay with it.

We stayed for a week so the choice at the free breakfast got boring, but it is free. The eggs varied from scrambled to flat to make an egg sandwich with. There was always yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pastries, cereal, packets to make hot oatmeal, and sometimes sausage or bacon. (you had to ask for hot water because the hot water machine was broken.)

The pool and hot tub hours were too restrictive for us to use except one day. It opens at 10 am and closes at 10 pm. The pool is not heated. The hotel is nicely laid out and landscaped so the pool area is very pleasant and has some tables with umbrellas.
The breakfast room staff was very friendly and the front desk was helpful. The printer didn't work to print out my boarding passes so the manager printed them at the front desk. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Dimas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Dimas

Address: 485 West Arrow Drive, San Dimas, CA 91773
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Dimas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Dimas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Dimas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Dimas, California Ideally situated just outside of Los Angeles, our hotel easy access to Ontario and Los Angeles International Airports, as well as major attractions such as Universal Studios and Disneyland. Just one mile from the hotel, downtown San Dimas features restaurants, shopping and historic sites such as the Pacific Railroad Museum. Visitors lodging in San Dimas can also picnic at the Frank G. Bonelli Regional Park, attend a racing event at NHRA Pomona Dragway, cool off at the Raging Waters Park, ski on Mt. Baldy or visit the stars in Hollywood. Business travelers will appreciate our accommodations near businesses such as Ready Pac Produce, Rain Bird International, Clayton Industries. Brown International and Blue Ribbon Star Inc. are also located less than four miles from our hotel. We also offer a 24-hour Business Center for your convenience. During your stay, enjoy our exceptional hotel services, including free Internet access and a complimentary breakfast. An outdoor pool and whirlpool, courtyard patio and a guest laundry are also available. As you prepare to visit the Golden State of California, be sure to check out our excellent deals and book your trip today.Take a virtual tour of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Dimas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Dimas Hotel San Dimas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Dimas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.