We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Siesta Restaurant

La Siesta Restaurant
920 N El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
(949) 498-3094
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 185 Restaurants in San Clemente
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
353 helpful votes 353 helpful votes
“Bad Service!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Went here for the first time because of recommendation from family. It's a little hole in the wall place, really reminded me of being in Mexico. Food was adequate, nothing special. Service was TERRIBLE. Had to ask where are margaritas were 15 minutes after we ordered whereas people seated 10 minutes after we were already had their drinks & salads. Had to flag down the manager to finally get our check. Maybe our waitress was just having a bad day... but because of it. We won't be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This place isn't much to see when driving by, but it's worth the wait. It seems that the lines are longer every time we go. The food is very good, as are the margaritas, chips and salsa. It's noisy and fun, but you can still talk at your table. If you order their carnitas special, you will have enough carnitas to take home! The food is plentiful, and very good!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best crispy tacos in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This little place has great chips and salsa, good prices, great tacos and coupons, too!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“A Favorite w/ the Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Located on El Camino Real at the south end of San Clemente, La Siesta is a local’s favorite to families and surfers alike. A bit on the weathered side, but the food is authentic Mexican style and the salsa is a winner too. They have won the San Clemente Salsa Challenge quite a few times over the years. The service is friendly (many of them are from the same family). They aren't shy about sitting down for a chat if you have the time.

The Mexican food is very good and reasonably priced. Try a Family Carnitas plate (feeds 4+) or a Baja style fish taco (don’t forget the chips & salsa). Their enchiladas are one of my favorites (Wednesday night is Enchilada Night). Their tortilla soup can be some of the best you’ll find.

Beer by the bottle or glass only (no pitchers), wine and cocktails. (I would have rated them higher, if they offered pitchers of beer.)

Not formal by any standard, but hey it’s not the Ritz Carlton, just its good Mexican food in a casual setting.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Like I mentioned in an earlier post; if there is a constant line, there is a reason. Food is good, staff is friendly and the Margaritas are viscious. Cuidado.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Siesta Restaurant also viewed

 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to La Siesta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Siesta Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.