We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorse Resort

Save Saved
You added Seahorse Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seahorse Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   602 Avenida Victoria, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in San Clemente
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The weather was warm, we never closed our balcony door. To fall asleep to the waves and wake up tho the waves, what else is there! That is if you like trains. (which we loved). Trains go by all day and night. The view is awesome! The staff is great. there is even a place to do laundry. AND Parking! Walk down the little street and eat breakfast at the beach garden cafe. We ate there 3 days! Sunsets is a fun little bar ...the sushi is good. Give your legs a workout and walk up the big street and find all kinds of shopping and eats. San Clemente is just a great beach town all together! Don't miss out on it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorseresort84, Guest Relations Manager at Seahorse Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We totally agree with you - what else is there than falling asleep to the lulling sounds of waves and waking up to the same waves crashing on the seashore!
One thing we've learned for sure - the train won't win everyone over, but we're certainly happy you enjoyed it. We think it's a pretty neat sight to see and enjoy that others appreciate it as well.
The Sea Horse is a family run operation; we take pride in providing our guests the best experience they can have here in San Clemente.Thanks for staying with us at the Sea Horse!

p.s. - we love welcoming guests from our home state of Arizona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    8
    3
    11
See reviews for
25
34
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Every year our group of 6 ladies gets together 2 times a year and visits different places for a reunion. This was our place this year. It was absolutely HEAVEN! A 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo with a FANTASIC view of the Pacific Ocean! We stayed in #2. Full kitchen with utensils and dishes. We slept at night with the both patio doors and windows open and was lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf. If you take the Amtrak train here, it drops you off across the street at the pier. Ate at several restaurants in the area and all were absolutely delicious. I can recommend the Fisherman's Restaurant across the street, and Beach City restaurant across from there, as well as Avila's El Ranchito Mexican Restaurant, which you can walk to if you wish. Be aware that there are no elevators or other handicap facilities that I saw. You have access to free beach towels and chairs. It was awesome and I look forward to going back! Most relaxing stay I have had anywhere for a long time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorseresort84, Guest Relations Manager at Seahorse Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
One of the best things about the Sea Horse is that our various types of rooms are perfect for everyone's vacation - from couples looking for a romantic getaway, to families vacationing and enjoying quality time together, or, like in your case, friends getting together to have the
"girl time" they've been waiting for all year! We're so happy you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had the chance to enjoy some of our delicious restaurants! We love recommending the best places to eat for whatever our guests are craving! Whether you want to head out and enjoy a meal in town or stay in and cook in your suite's kitchen (and enjoy the meal in your dining area against the backdrop of the Pacific Ocean), we have what you're looking for! We look forward to seeing you and your friends again!

-Sea Horse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I spent a few splendid summer days on the San Clemente seaside this summer. The Seahorse is perfectly located with the beach being a few steps away. Staff are very helpful and friendly; nearby infrastructure provides everything one needs for holiday and relaxation.
The rooms are bright and overlooking the beach. However, they could need a refurbishment - the equipment and furniture is rather basic and a bit dated (there even was hole in the bathroom wall). However, the Seahorse is reasonable priced if one takes into account the room fees in the hotels and inns nearby.
All in all I recommend the place and would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorseresort84, Guest Relations Manager at Seahorse Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We're so happy you and your wife were able to spend some time with us at the Sea Horse! You really can't beat the sounds of the waves and the beautiful views you get from our rooms. You're so right - everything you need to relax and have a wonderful stay in sunny San Clemente is a short walk away. You'll be pleased to know we have fixed the bathroom and are planning additional upgrades this coming season. We very much look forward to welcoming you and your wife again during your future holidays!

-Sea Horse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Seahorse Resort has a great location! Our room had a great view of the waves, pier, and Dana Point in the background. The resort is on the main beach boardwalk which is close to good eats. Adding to the San Clement beach life is the train stop. This makes it convenient to spend the day at the beach, but challenging for guests to get a good night sleep. The train whistle blows late into the night and again early in the morning.

The service was very good. All of the people were friendly and welcoming. We also received a good recommendation for a dinner and music restuarant.

The resort is more like an old cheap hotel with no frills. Our room was clean but it had old furniture, an outdated bathroom, cheep towels, and an uncomfortable mattress. The resort could increase their return on investment by making some low cost improvements.

For a couple or family on a budget, I would recommend staying at the Seahorse Resort.

Room Tip: Second and third floor rooms have better views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorseresort84, Guest Relations Manager at Seahorse Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks so much for staying with us, Ken! We're glad you enjoyed our dinner recommendation. We appreciate your comments on how we can improve and will do our best to update our style in the months to come. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you back at our beach escape soon!

- Sea Horse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and two young children. Room rate was great for such an awesome view. Loved all the space the room had as well as the full kitchen so we could make meals instead of having to go out for every meal. Perfect location, could walk to everything we wanted to do. Staff was super friendly. We loved that they have beach towels and chairs to use at the beach. Just got home 2 days ago and already discussing when we would like to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorseresort84, Guest Relations Manager at Seahorse Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, SW! We're so happy you enjoyed your room and can't wait to welcome you back. Remember, our off-season rates start in mid-September, and the weather will be great!

-Sea Horse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We have been coming back to San Clemente and have stayed at The Seahorse as well as the Villa Del Mar. We stayed on the top floor - end unit of the Seahorse and had two rooms that shared a deck. We even had our dogs. Andrew and the staff are so awesome. The rooms were very comfortable. My husband and I had our own room and the three teens had the other with a full kitchen, incredible views and the best location to all the best of San Clemente. Great value and we plan to make them our "home away from home" every time we visit. We felt the price was very reasonable - especially for the location and accommodations. Nice parking also. We stayed for one week. Would definately recommend it.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorseresort84, Guest Relations Manager at Seahorse Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Hi Julie,
We're honored that you'd choose us as your "home away from home"! We're so happy you found our hotel here in beautiful San Clemente. We know it's especially comforting knowing you can bring your dogs with you - after all, they're part of the family too (that's how we feel about our big guy, Humphrey)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I have stayed at the Villa Del Mar a few times in recent years, but had never stayed at the Seahorse up the street. It is further up the hill, so the view is a bit better. We stayed in the 2 bedrm, 2 bth suite and it was like a roomy apartment. There was a ton of storage and plenty of space to either sit together or have some personal space. The view from the master bedroom bed was of the pier. While we were there it was a full moon and the view was incredible....the pier, electric waves, etc. So amazing. I loved the retro-tile (original) in the bathroom and the general feel of old school beach vacations.

What I think is also like about staying here are the owners, who are very, very personable and helpful.

If you are looking to really relax and being close to the water and walking to dine and shop is important to you, this is the place.

Room Tip: Tell the owners what you want and they will do their very best to help you get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorseresort84, Guest Relations Manager at Seahorse Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
We just had an awesome full moon a couple of nights ago! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Thanks, AC.

-Sea Horse

p.s. - I agree, the view is quite spectacular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seahorse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Resort

Address: 602 Avenida Victoria, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seahorse Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Seahorse Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Resort San Clemente
Seahorse Hotel San Clemente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.