We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn San Clemente” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 S. El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn San Clemente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel was great. I had a beautiful view of the ocean which I loved! As always, the room was clean and neat. The breakfast was really good. The staff was friendly. After we had checked out and left the hotel I realized I had left my earrings in the room. Called the hotel and told them. They retrieved my earrings and held them at the front desk until I could return to get them. The internet connection was a little slow, but overall a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    83
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
144
68
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Johnson, Kellie, and Rosalind went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful one. They made sure we had 2 pack n' plays as we have twin infants, made sure we got some fresh cookies before we left, and had a healthy, delicious breakfast every morning. We will definitely stay at a Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed here for business during a week night. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. My room smelled somewhat, especially in the toilet room and the overall decor in the room and lobby seemed tired. I felt like I paid a little bit more than the value I received.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Carl N- I am pleased to hear that the staff was helpful and accommodating, but disappointed to hear that you had issues with your suite. I will certainly take your words into account and see where we can improve in this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Before we decided to spent a week at this property I visited all of the tripadvisor sites for options. This property kept coming up for friendliness, cleanliness and location location location. They were right, very helpful staff, amazing clean for a 3 star hotel, and location location location as we bounced back and forth between Disneyland and the San Diego Zoo both in 40 minute easy drives north and south. The hotel is soooo easy to get on and off the freeway it is amazing. Around the hotel, and not why we chose this property, as we wanted the flexibility to go to any park in the LA Basin or San Diego, was a surprise with Pedro's "the worlds best fish tacos" (very old drive thru) which was well worth the 6 bucks a plate for #3. Also, other than a small earthquake that just happened while I am writing this (it's southern California chill), there is the Montgomery Motorcycle Shop just up the street with a fabulous collection of vintage and antique motorcycles and scooters for sale (and repair of any bike new or used). Go look, smell the grease and oil and buy a very cool T-shirt with their logo, or a bike to ride home. Family owned 2 generation San Clemente family and very friendly and worth the stop. We also took the Pacific Coast highway and did the tourist sunset on the San Clemente pier while watching the surfers and chomping on a buck an ounce smoked salmon followed by a swig(s) of local brewery beers. Downtown to is every diva's dream and have a credit card ready to melt down. Okay, back to the Hampton Inn rating, other than one elevator (do the stairs, more better for your health :-)) the property is older but recently remolded, has a state of the art laundry, the standard Hampton breakfast fare and cookies in the evening. We had to extend our reservation due to our child getting sick (emergency room is just 10 minutes away by the way) and the staff worked hard to get us the best price for the room we were in (largest in hotel is 214) as they were booked out. The pool is not big but again like the hotel really clean and heated year round. The hot tub and the grounds were also very clean and convenient as was the underground parking that leads directly into the lobby. For a place we intended to use as a base of operations to go north and south we can't say enough of the property and the sights and foodie haunts in the area, and the sunsets on the pier. Oh, and if you are Hilton slug you are probably looking at the Double Tree up the road. Why didn't we stay there? The reviews we read said the walls were paper thin, not clean and the location was difficult. We went there for a drink and the reviews were right, tough to get to and the parking lot was full of campers and trailers.... Save yourself and book at the Hampton Inn in San Clemente, its' a hidden gem, we will book there again.

Room Tip: Two views, the ocean over I-5 (double plated glass window) on second floor or the view of the golf c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Staff provided excellent customer service, person tour of room before booking was appreciated. You will not be disappointed with this hotel. It is right off the freeway, but very quiet and peaceful.
The room was perfect! Breakfast was a great start to the day. Front desk man provided directions and recommendations that were much appreciated.
I would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Facing the mountains would be a better choice for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is one of the nicest Hampton hotels I have ever visited. We stayed here for two nights and were delighted by the friendly, helpful staff and extremely neat and tidy accommodations. The hotel is in a great location for exploring the beaches and sights in the San Clemente area. Covered parking, breakfast included, tastefully decorated, and did I mention the staff? It all adds up to a memorable stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My 9 yr. old grandson and I spent two days here this month. The room was spacious and immaculate. We'd flown to California from Orlando, FL, and were exhausted. Athena at the front desk was friendly, even managed to fix the handle on my grandson's suitcase. She provided recommendations for dinner and called to make sure we were happy with our room. When I purchased a new camera, Kellie programmed it for me and did so cheerfully. The hotel has a new general manager, and he took the time to talk with us, ask if we had questions, if we needed anything, and told us to let him know if we did. As always, the warm cookies were a nice touch. We stayed at several hotels in California on this trip, but the staff here was the best by far. We are planning to return for a longer visit. This hotel is a gem with wonderful staff!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor above the lobby. We were just a short walk to the breakfast room, the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente

Address: 2481 S. El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Clemente
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the new Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, an all-suite hotel with ocean views, resort amenities, friendly service and a romantic Southern California ambiance near San Clemente Beach and Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
Hampton Inn San Clemente
San Clemente Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.