We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 S. El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in San Clemente
Rochester, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staff is very friendly & helpful. View from either side of the Inn is great. Beds are super comfy. Complimentary breakfast is very good. Easy freeway access to Dana Point & Laguna. Many places to eat & night life in walking distance. Just a hop, skip and a jump to downtown San Clemente. We will always stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    56
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
92
52
11
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I travel weekly for my job. I am very loyal to the Hilton family but I usually avoid Hampton Inns because they do not have some of the amentities that I enjoy. I stayed at this Hampton because it was close to my Marine son. I am glad i chose this property. The staff was wonderful. The hotel is undergoing renovations and the construction did not interupt my stay at all. The staff and workers were very good and made sure that the guests had everything they needed. The rooms were comfortable and had a microwave and refrig which is a must for me. This trip was a mix of business and pleasure and I have already rebooked for another stay. Great motel with easy access to I-5.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

When we arrived to check in we realized we had booked the wrong hotel. But the lady at the front desk was very gracious and even though we arrived early, was able to get us a wonderful room with an awesome view. They have a great breakfast spread in the morning. excellent selection and very nice wait staff. Our room was clean and comfortable. We didn't want to go home!! We will stay there everytime we go to visit our grand child. It is very convenient to Camp Penndleton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We chose this location because of its proximity to Camp Pendleton, where my son is stationed, and because we are Hilton Honors members. The facility was located nicely within walking distance of several restaurants and the beach, and it afforded a very easy drive to the freeway.

We also like the suite-style of rooms.

However, the air conditioning unit in my room was 'clanky', and so I just shut it off at night. It kept me up the first night. We were only staying the weekend, and so I figured a call to maintenance would not pan out during my stay anyway.

Getting internet access was troublesome as well. Followed the directions provided, but my laptop didn't cooperate as well as it does at other hotels. The front desk guy was very helpful - offered to help me if I brought my laptop down to lobby - but I figured it out by doing some tinkering with settings.

The breakfast area had been moved temporarily to the lobby, and so lobby relaxation was strained (there was always food around). When we booked the hotel, the completion date for the 'real' breakfast room was supposed to be the week before our arrival, and so it was a disappointment that the project was not completed as advertised. The 1st floor was under complete renovation for that breakfast room, and unfortunately that's where the fitness center and pool access were as well. It was hard to get around that floor (carpet torn up, etc.). We just avoided it entirely.

Of all the Hamptons I've stayed in, this one was average. Its location was the major selling point (and the San Clemente weather!). Staff was very, very friendly tho.

Room Tip: Get a room on the highway side. You can see the ocean - it's beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Irwin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We checked in early evening of Feb 16th. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant. My husband walked by later and made a comment that the pool was a little cold. Soon after that we got a call from her that she turned the heat up! Most hotels would not have taken his comment seriously. As I went to the pool there was a nice gentleman there checking to make sure the pool was warm enough for us. There was a welcome letter, Doritos and a bottle of water in our room. It is really all these little things that can make or break your travel experience. It was such a nice stay for us. Besides all the nice staff, the room was clean and large. The parking spaces were plenty and secured. We are making another trip to this hotel soon!

Room Tip: Yes if your room faces the freeway you would hear a tad of traffic but you can also see the ocean wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Eppy is the best clerk ever!!! yay! such a refreshing stay! the linnes fresh and furniture is very high quality. its very clean and roomy. just loved my stay been a while since i have enjoyed a room so much! great value!

Room Tip: they have ocean view rooms with balconies!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomita, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice over the past 2 years. Though the rooms show their age, they are still a great value. Access to the hotel is easily accessible by street or freeway. The location is close to the downtown shopping area in San Clemente and the municipal golf course. The staff is always very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Clemente Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
Hampton Inn San Clemente
San Clemente Hampton Inn
Address: 2481 S. El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Clemente
#3 Business Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the new Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, an all-suite hotel with ocean views, resort amenities, friendly service and a romantic Southern California ambiance near San Clemente Beach and Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.