We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar

Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar
611 Avenida Victoria, San Clemente, CA 92673
949-498-6390
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 166 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The view is worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been coming here for over 20 years and always have a great time because you cannot beat the view. The service can lag sometimes though they are as you can imagine extremely busy pretty much from open to close on any given day. There is also not a lot of room for the servers to get between all the tables that are (understandably so) squished together for maximum seating capacity.
In addition to the somewhat slow service the lunch portions seem to be getting smaller which is the main reason I gave this a 4 not a 5. But the food is always good - we always try the fresh caught fish when available - and the sourdough bread is amazing! The wine menu is reasonable as well. Nothing too over the top but usually enough selection and decent price point.
I definitely recommend sitting outside if possible. What I don't recommend is showing up with a party of 8 without a reservation and then request a corner deck table, as so many visitors do. A lot of people actually get mad that the wait is 2 hours on a Sunday with perfect weather. What do they expect??? Note to tourists, this is NOT San Clemente's best kept secret!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    225
    75
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catskill, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great chowder!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I came here with some friends. Unfortunately you couldn't get the lunch menu and the dinner menu was VERY LIMITED. I had soup which was really great and a Dungeness crab. That was very good but it's served cold. I would have thought they would be alive and cooked hot with butter. Friends food was good. Wouldn't go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Views. Great Tacos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I have been frequenting Fisherman's at the base of The San Clemente Pier for at least a dozen years. The atmosphere from the patio is wonderful, with gentle ocean breezes and surfers riding waves below. The service is always superb.

It wasn't until my last visit that I enjoyed the food. (It's quite hit or miss.) I had the mahi mahi fish tacos with flour tortillas. They were served with colorful chips and fresh pico de gallo and a vast array of bottled hot sauces. Delicious!

There's always a bit of a wait to be seated on the patio, so be sure to plan ahead time-wise. Parking is a bit of a challenge on sunny days and weekends. There is a pay lot up the street, but it's worth cruising the adjacent neighborhoods for a free spot. It'll create a bit of a trek, but you can relax, regardless of the wait for a table, never wondering if your meter will run out.

Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best Chowder Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The food, scenery and atmosphere are second to none. After a long walk through town and on the beach, this was the perfect setting for lunch. All of our dishes were served promptly and were piping hot. I've had chowder from Boston to San Francisco and this chowder tops them all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow, good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great food and an outstanding view of the sunset! I had the chowder and scallops and both were perfectly done - some of the best I ever had. The desert was great too - a mile high of a frozen mud pie! Enough for 3 of us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.