We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great googa mooga !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 North El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in San Clemente
san clemente,ca, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great googa mooga !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

finally a place thaT has it all,,close to the beach,,close to town and walkable..with clean rooms and a great staff at a good price. this is the place with kids , solo or on a date with your loved ones.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    90
    39
    17
    4
See reviews for
76
72
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel or motel was closest to the Venue to the wedding , 5 min walk. that was the main consideration .Price in my opinion was very high for this level of hotel .that was the man consideration . Several families going to the wedding stayed, here, and The Brides family had a catered brunch the next morning in the Banquet room

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The way the hotel is designed, the rooms are above the parking. At 6:15 a.m., a woman started her rental car's alarm -- and couldn't get it turned off (lessons should be mandatory by the rental companies). I went to our balcony and could almost look directly down on the offending car. I was getting ready to go down to stop this horrible noise, another guest came and quieted the alarm in about 5 seconds.
I did think the room was nice (although a little bare) and the bathroom was very good. I did like the swimming pool too. I thought the breakfast was decidedly so, however. If it hadn't been for being awakened so early -- not the hotel's fault but exacerbated by the hotel design -- I would given this hotel four stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Nice staff, clean rooms, but nothing fancy. No view (at least from most rooms). Good restaurants and shopping nearby. The beaches are not the best for family swimming (better for surfers). I was unhappy to find a staff member adding chemicals to the jacuzzi at 4:30 in the afternoon. He should do it after the pool closes for the night. At 9 the next morning, the pool was being vacuumed and the jacuzzi being refilled...so again could not use for 45 minutes. This is unacceptable. Nice continental breakfast, but for some reason many of the items had to be requested from a staff member behind the counter which was a hassle as it caused a line.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review,

I apologize about having to add chemicals to the Jacuzzi so late in the day. Typically the chemicals are set every other day at 6:30am. The time you were here however, our maintenance staff noticed the Jacuzzi was not it typical sparkling blue color. Apparently, our chlorine feeder had become clogged and was not chlorinating the Jacuzzi properly. This is something that can cause problems, so we had to bring the chlorine level up to par in order to keep the Jacuzzi clean and safe for our visitors.

We really appreciate you coming to stay with us, and hopefully this issue will not arise if you decide to stay with us again.

Sincerely, Eric Moser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles,ca, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

clean hotel,professional staff,breakfast wonderful,nice ammenities,great swimming pool result equal to great vacations.i recommend this nice hotel to anybody that would like to enjoy a place witth all this enjoyment to spend witn family

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had the occasion to spend a night there last weekend. Sadly, we picked one of the accessible rooms due to my wife's severe RA. It was a huge mistake. Room 108 contains the worst bed either of us has ever slept on. Bar none. My wife was ready to leave at 1am. We made it until 5am then we started packing. Other than that it was OK if you enjoy a view of the back parking lot and the sound of the gate going to it slamming shut all the time. The room itself was dreary, somewhat stained and reminiscent of a creepy 1970s Motel 6 room. Updated decor, a paint job and new bed would be a dramatic improvement but you would still have that scintillating parking lot view. I did the Best Western customer service form and received an email from the manager stating if there was anything he could do let him know. I emailed him back with more or less this review and said I was looking forward to his thoughts. That was several days ago and nary a peep back. I guess profits mean more than customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: Avoid room 108.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We booked two nights here via hotwire, and we were very happy with our stay. There was plenty of parking, and it was easy to find. The area felt very safe, so I didn't mind the fact that the doors open straight to the outside. While the motel is fairly close to the ocean, we decided to drive to the beach since we have young kids. The San Clemente pier was a quick, easy drive.
The rooms had a decent amount of space. My wife made use of the laundry room here since we were staying around LA for two weeks. There is a wide variety of food nearby, everything from fast food to upscale dining.
Our only complaint was that the free breakfast was probably the worst free breakfast I've ever seen in a hotel. The breakfast room is tiny and you have to ask someone to hand you the individually wrapped items, which I felt was a little weird. This really didn't impact our overall pleasant experience however. For a better breakfast experience, I would recommend either La Galette near the pier or stopping by Ralph's just up the street to grab something for a breakfast on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn

Address: 1601 North El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
#5 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Casablanca Hotel San Clemente
Best Western San Clemente
San Clemente Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.