We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites San Clemente

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites San Clemente to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites San Clemente
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 S. El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in San Clemente
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

79 dollars a night! Rooms are pretty big, Decent pool and sufficient parking. Austin who is the pm guy at the front desk is very professional and polite. He remembers your name every time you come downstairs. The only thing I would improve on this budget hotel is the pillows. They give you 6-8 pillows but none of them are very good. Great location if you are going to be at Lower Trestles. Decent Breakfast and free internet.

Thanks again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david142003, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It is glad to know that you like our place and our services then come back staying with us on a second time. Be honestly, the only purpose for all of our staffs' hard working is make guests happy and willing to come back when they visit this area next time.

I will pass your compliment to all the staffs and have them continuously do the way they are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    36
    17
    28
See reviews for
68
49
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We got a pretty good deal booking air/hotel/car via orbits to stay at this hotel. Though I was pretty nervous with all the poor reviews what I had gotten us into it turned out fine. Yes the room was small and a little warn around the edges- but it worked for us and would do it again if I got a good deal off of it...I don't think its worth it over $150 but again we got a good deal so it made it a little better for us to visit a great beach town on a budget. What we liked- good ac and our room had a comfortable bed so we had a good night sleep every night. Fridge worked great for our drinks, the cleaned the room pretty good every day. The breakfast buffet is okay- don't expect much and its fine though we did opt out for a few days just to mix it up. (Go down to Cafe del Sol- really good breakfast burritos- didn't like as much in the evening but good for breakfast). I would go back again if the price was right. If you're on a budget don't be afraid to book.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david142003, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It is glad to know that you like our place and our services then come back staying with us on a second time. Be honestly, the only purpose for all of our staffs' hard working is make guests happy and willing to come back when they visit this area next time.

You will also be pleased to note that our rooms will be undergoing renovation and we will be adding more space to our breakfast area. We hope that you will allow us to serve you again if you ever plan on visiting the area during the late summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

DUMP. Comfort Suites is the top of the Choice food chain and this makes the Rodeway look like Caesars Palace.

Desk clerk was not rude nor friendly. I wont bore you with the details, look at the photos then book somewhere else

I stay over 150 nights a year on the road and have watched from the front row, the decline of Choice Hotels.....

Room Tip: stay at the Travel Lodge down the street, its nicer..and cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david142003, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
First of all, we humbly apologize that your room was in such poor condition. No guest should have to put up with these inconveniences and room problems on a vacation, business trip, or family visit. Rest assured, we have spoken with our housekeepers and maintenance about this issue and making sure all our rooms adhere to proper Choice Hotels and “common-sense” room cleanliness standards.
Thank you for your review and pictures, since we can use this to further improve the quality of our property and service to guests. And again, we apologize for the negative experience of your visit and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in San Clemente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Don't look at the 1980's A/C unit too closely! Very stinky and filled w/ dust and who knows what else. Very cramped outdated rooms, furniture and bathroom. This owner should update this hotel and start with hiring all new staff. We overheard other's complaining as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david142003, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review , since we can use this to further improve the quality of our property and service to guests. You will also be pleased to note that our rooms will be undergoing renovation during the winter And again, we apologize for the negative experience of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in August (Queen + sofa bed) and paid $165 for the night. Given the relatively high price, I was disappointed. The check-in staff was polite but not friendly. The room and bathroom need updating, the sofa bed was grubby looking and a little lumpy, the sheets were very thin and one had a hole in it. The top blanket on the sheet also looked very worn and I avoided touching it..... I tried to leave my shoes on in the room. The location is all right (close to San Onofre ), the pool is decent (kind of small but it was clean), the breakfast was just ok.
So for that price, I was not happy, had I paid $90/night off season or so, it would have been different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david142003, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay was not enjoyable price/value wise, and we take all criticisms and comments to heart as areas to improve on. We train our housekeeping and maintenance to always keep an eye out for defects in room quality and functionality, and regularly inspect our rooms ahead of times to avoid unsatisfied guests. For the worn out sheet with a hole in it, we agree that it is unacceptable and reaffirmed with housekeeping that they double check all the sheets they wash and use.
We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the swimming pool and breakfast. If you are ever in the vicinity of San Clemente in the future, please allow us to serve you again. We will do our best to give you an entirely different and improved experience.
Again, thank you for your review as we see all reviews as an opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We love the service and the room was good. The location for us was great. Because my son was at MCT Camp Pendleton and it's only i exit away. Carls;s Jr was at a walking distance and also the beach (there was a nice trail about 1 mile long).
The pool was nice...my family and I enjoyed it a lot.
If we go to San Clemente again (witch is very beautiful) We will definitely stay at Comfort Suites

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david142003, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope you had a wonderful time meeting your son and enjoying the San Clemente coastline. It is indeed relaxing to have a beautiful beach within walking distance nearby the hotel. We invite you and your family to stay over again for a comfortable and relaxing visit the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We got a room here from a Travelocity mystery special. We were excited because it said we were getting a 3-star hotel, that normally charges over $200/night. We were disappointed because the hotel needs some definite renovations - the room felt a little musty, and overall everything felt & appeared a little janky - from the check-in counter to the elevator, to the doors (our room lacked any functioning internal extra lock - just the electronic key lock on the outside), the paint, the wallpaper, the furniture in the rooms, the wobbly chair (with broken leg) in the breakfast room, the pool was much smaller than appeared in website photos. Just one wall unit A/C, so the adjacent bed got cold & living area remained hot & stuffy. Whole place needs lots of touching-up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david142003, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your honest review, since we take all complaints and criticisms as further opportunities to improve our property. You will also be pleased to note that our rooms will be undergoing renovation during the winter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites San Clemente

Address: 3701 S. El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites San Clemente 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach.Comfort Suites®, a favorite San Clemente hotel less than 1 mile from San Clemente State Beach, near Camp Pendleton, Trestles beach, and other Orange County beaches in Southern California.Our beautiful Orange County hotel is nearby to the exciting oceanfront activities at San Clemente, San Onofre State Beaches, the cultural events at Laguna Beach, and the prestigious U.S. Marine Corps Base at Camp Pendleton.Comfort Suites San Clemente hotel are often used as weekend getaway locations by couples and groups who are visiting Disneyland, LEGOLAND, Catalina Island or the surfing events that are hosted beside the San Clemente Municipal Pier. We also offer year round corporate discounts to our business class traveling on business Monday thru Friday. Our economical Comfort Suites Hotel and the other hotels near San Clemente provide easy-access to a vast selection of Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach dining opportunities, golf courses or resorts, and the tourist-oriented nightlife districts around Southern California hotels. Comfort Suites in San Clemente is within easy driving distance to many popular attractions, concerts, sporting events, and shopping opportunities found at: * Orange County Beaches * SeaWorld San Diego * San Diego Zoo * Angel Stadium of Anaheim * Knott's Berry Farm * Laguna Art Museum. Comfort Suites is one of the leading San Clemente hotels for business travelers and families who are searching for an up-scale alternative to Orange County Hotel accommodations. Our San Clemente beach hotel amenities and hotelComfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach accommodations include: * Free full-size hot breakfast * Free Wi-Fi high-speed Internet access * Free fitness center, hot tub, heated outdoor pool * Free local calls and weekday newspaper * Free on-site parking * Guest Laundry. Southern California hotels and our elegant San Clemente Comfort Suites location are popular lodgings for business travelers who enjoy our scenic ocean shores. Our Comfort Suites San Clemente hotel offers competitive corporate rates. Please contact our friendly detail-oriented customer service department for more information. Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach. Luxurious Pacific Ocean partial-view suites are available for honeymoons, anniversary celebrations and other special events. Free champagne, heart-shaped whirlpool tubs and high-quality linens can help to make your stay at our elegant San Clemente Beach hotel accommodation a very pleasurable experience.All guest suites at the Comfort Suites San Clemente have been recently renovated to provide the latest amenities expected in all high-quality Orange County hotels. In-room laptop safes, fridge/microwave/coffee options and beautiful up-to-date furnishings make our Comfort Suites lodgings among the best hotels in San Clemente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelBookers, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites San Clemente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.