We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites San Clemente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites San Clemente to your Saves list
Comfort Suites San Clemente
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 S. El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great motel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This place is the closest place to stay to Trestles. The front desk staff are super cool, professional, and will do anything to make your stay great 4 star hotel service. This is a motel, the room is decent, refrigerator, microwave, bed and pull out sofa, Bed is above average.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david142003, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
It is glad to know that you like our place and our services then come back staying with us on a second time. Be honestly, the only purpose for all of our staffs' hard working is make guests happy and willing to come back when they visit this area next time.

I will pass your compliment to all the staffs and have them continuously do the way they are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    61
    38
    17
    28
See reviews for
73
54
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I absolutely enjoyed my stay here & would definitely love to come back, I was visiting and the location of the hotel is not to far from anything which is great. A few flaws was that the first morning I woke up to the fire alarm & the third night after swimming in the ocean I wanted to take a dip in the heated pool but to my surprise someone pooped in there... I'm sure it wasn't intentional but I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG BEACH, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My room was very rundown looking. The tv did not work the first nite, no wifi, the power went down twice, the handle fell off the toilet and I got a foot fungus from the jacuzzi. Contacted corporate who had the mgr call me. He offered me twenty dollars off the bill for all of my incoveniences. I didn't even listed them all above...to many. I spend almost five hundred dollars there. It was an insult that he thought my discomfort was only worth twenty dollars. Do not stay in this hotel you will be disappointed. Does not look like pictures at all!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

If you are looking for a clean bed and nice staff, this is your place. If you want anything else, pay a little more to get a LOT more. We stayed here to go my son's Civil Air Patrol Encampment graduation at Camp Pendelton. It was close to the north gate, so it was very convenient. When we got there, an hour after check in, our room wasn't ready. The bed was not made because they had run out of clean pillow cases and were still washing them. We waited while they fixed it. The room itself was full of the cheapest products available. The handle on the shower, was not the right sized fixture. The paint was slopped on. The light fixtures were crooked and our bath towels had ragged edges. I actually threw one of them out because it looked like a rag. I would like to say this place was run down, but the very poor quality of craftsmanship and construction materials indicates it was never a quality building. No matter what they do, they can't make it nicer. Breakfast was awful. The lowest quality cereal, bread, powdered eggs and the greasiest sausage. I wouldn't consume it, even for free. There are only three tables, not nearly enough for a full hotel. They were never cleaned off, so even when people left, you didn't want to sit down. I chose this hotel to save 30 or so bucks. Next time, I'll spend the extra and expect towels that still have hems. It was as clean as you can get cheap stuff clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor away from the freeway to keep the noise down
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the Comfort Suites for 4 nights. We had a late check in the first night, and the staff accomadated our needs. The room was found to be neat and served all of our needs, but a tiny bit crowded for a family of four which included two 9 year old boys. Although this location was slightly out of the way for us, we were very pleased with the price of the suites, and the warm breakfast was an added savings to our trip each day. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed only one night. Rooms were decent sized and in good condition. The breakfast was well worth it, quite a variety of food to choose from. Kids love the waffle maker! Guy at front desk was very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable and big(better than our stay at Courtyard by Marriott the night before). Definately stay here again if in the area!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

we had a good time accommodations was very good we will definite stay here again when we are back in the area for business and or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites San Clemente

Address: 3701 S. El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites San Clemente 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach.Comfort Suites®, a favorite San Clemente hotel less than 1 mile from San Clemente State Beach, near Camp Pendleton, Trestles beach, and other Orange County beaches in Southern California.Our beautiful Orange County hotel is nearby to the exciting oceanfront activities at San Clemente, San Onofre State Beaches, the cultural events at Laguna Beach, and the prestigious U.S. Marine Corps Base at Camp Pendleton.Comfort Suites San Clemente hotel are often used as weekend getaway locations by couples and groups who are visiting Disneyland, LEGOLAND, Catalina Island or the surfing events that are hosted beside the San Clemente Municipal Pier. We also offer year round corporate discounts to our business class traveling on business Monday thru Friday. Our economical Comfort Suites Hotel and the other hotels near San Clemente provide easy-access to a vast selection of Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach dining opportunities, golf courses or resorts, and the tourist-oriented nightlife districts around Southern California hotels. Comfort Suites in San Clemente is within easy driving distance to many popular attractions, concerts, sporting events, and shopping opportunities found at: * Orange County Beaches * SeaWorld San Diego * San Diego Zoo * Angel Stadium of Anaheim * Knott's Berry Farm * Laguna Art Museum. Comfort Suites is one of the leading San Clemente hotels for business travelers and families who are searching for an up-scale alternative to Orange County Hotel accommodations. Our San Clemente beach hotel amenities and hotelComfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach accommodations include: * Free full-size hot breakfast * Free Wi-Fi high-speed Internet access * Free fitness center, hot tub, heated outdoor pool * Free local calls and weekday newspaper * Free on-site parking * Guest Laundry. Southern California hotels and our elegant San Clemente Comfort Suites location are popular lodgings for business travelers who enjoy our scenic ocean shores. Our Comfort Suites San Clemente hotel offers competitive corporate rates. Please contact our friendly detail-oriented customer service department for more information. Comfort Suites, a San Clemente hotel near San Clemente State Beach. Luxurious Pacific Ocean partial-view suites are available for honeymoons, anniversary celebrations and other special events. Free champagne, heart-shaped whirlpool tubs and high-quality linens can help to make your stay at our elegant San Clemente Beach hotel accommodation a very pleasurable experience.All guest suites at the Comfort Suites San Clemente have been recently renovated to provide the latest amenities expected in all high-quality Orange County hotels. In-room laptop safes, fridge/microwave/coffee options and beautiful up-to-date furnishings make our Comfort Suites lodgings among the best hotels in San Clemente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites San Clemente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.