We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Clemente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Clemente to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Clemente
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 South Avenue de la Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92673   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Located right off the freeway a few blocks from the north side of downtown area with plenty of eateries & shops.
The SC pier is another 10-15 minute leisure walk further down.

Consider paying a little extra to receive the King Suite w/ jacuzzi on the view side w balcony. Keep in mind nearby are all commercial buildings & the ocean view is on the distance! If you get the even room #s you end up literally watching cars race on the 5 FWY like you are in a NASCAR speedway:) Nice for a few hours but not for overnight stays. The third floor is on the fwy level. The rooms do seem well insulated we on the view side didn't hear much of the FWY noise inside unless you get on the balcony. Not much use of balcony because this time of year you get the June gloom factor where it's overcast & cool pretty much most of the day.

The room was nice with recent renovations, very comfy king bed a small armchair, desk with chair, cabinet w/ microwave small fridge, a 32"? flat screen & 2 drawers. Next to bed is an oversize jacuzzi decorated with mirrors all around which gives the room a larger feel. By the entryway you have a modern single vanity area next to an enclosed bathroom & separate shower. In the middle separating the batroom from the sleeping area is an open closet area with the security valuables box.

Free covered parking a definite plus in CA beach cities. A very good Free Wifi w/out chasing the signal.The toiletries are from Bath & Body works, free USA daily paper. The Hotel staff we came across was very polite & pleasant
If I had any complaint it would be the bland in room coffee but there is a very nice Starbucks coffee shop across the street & a well rated coffee shop called Zebra House but it's closed in the evening.

If you are a cyclist about half a mile from the Hotel you catch the dedicated bike trail that takes you down to San Onofre, Camp Pendleton & beyond! We would definitely come back to the Holiday Inn when visiting San Clemente!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    49
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
64
59
18
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Last week my husband and I spent two nights at the Holiday Inn in San Clemente. It is an older hotel that has been completely redone with pleasing decor, good beds and bedding, microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV and even a choice of firm or soft pillows. The room was very clean, and there was a free bottle of water in the room and decent coffee for the coffeemaker. One thing I liked was that the blackout curtain was one solid piece pulled from one side. I always carry a couple of clothespins to close the usual gap in the curtains that close in the middle. The people at the desk were pleasant and helpful. I got a great deal on Groupon so can't complain about much, but our room was billed as an "ocean view", and the view was actually some peaks at the ocean between rooftops. One of the best things this hotel has is its location right at the top end of downtown, so you can walk to nearly everything, and there are several good restaurants nearby. It is still a charming downtown with mostly small local stores.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor if you want a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a great place to stay in San Clemente. We were lucky enough to stay in room 337 for 4 nights from 4/5 through 4/9. We checked in around 9 pm, as our flight into LAX had landed at 7 pm. The young man who checked us in was very nice and helpful.

When we got to our room, I was very impressed. My husband is an Intercontenal Club member and we stay at lots of Holiday Inns. This is, by far, the nicest Holiday Inn that we have been to. The room was spacious and clean. There was a little musty smell when we got there but it quickly disapated after we opened the balcony door. The bathroom was very nice and looked recently redone. The bed was a little hard for me, but it was fine. The refrigerator and microwave really came in handy.

The next morning I opened the drapes and was so happy to be able to see the ocean. The view was very nice and we spent hours on the balcony looking at the town as well as the ocean.
There are lots of restaurants and shops a block away and we walked to the pier a few times as well to have breakfast or dinner. The walk is about .8 miles and very pleasant.

The last morning we had breakfast at the hotel and it was very good. We met Todd and he was as nice as everyone says he is. He couldn't do enough for us. In fact, he was our waiter since the restaurant was so busy. But, even being busy, he took the time to meet with and speak to everyone in the restaurant. My husband was ordering breakfast and Todd remarked that the special was basically the same thing and would cost a lot less. We were impressed.

Todd also let us know that our next stop (the Palazzo in Las Vegas) is also an Intercontental hotel. I was able to call ahead and not only did my husband get points for our stay there but, we also got the special amenities that come with being a member.

One problem we had, which is no reflection on the hotel, was the group of young people in the room next to us. Because we had ajoining balconies, when they came in at 3 am and continued to party until 5 am on our last two nights, they woke us up and we found it difficult to get back to sleep until they quieted down. I understand that they were having a good time, it is what it is. Again, no fault of the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was going to San Clemente. Is it fancy, no, not at all. But, it is clean, has a great view and the service is great. It is so refreshing to have people genuinely care about your stay with them.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean with a balcony, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay if you want to get away for a couple days. We had a great ocean view with a variety of great restaraunts nearby. Only a short walk from shopping district and other services. Although the carpet was a little dirty and the service was slow, comfy beds and a friendly staff awaited us. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Everything was excellent, rooms were tidy, staff was friendly, great service in the restaurant! Great location to Del Mar for shopping and the pier...walking distance. Everything was really great and made for a nice stay.

Room Tip: the ocean view room is a few dollars more but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband bought a Groupon at the last minute so we could get out of town for a few nights. We had a great stay. Ocean/sunset views, walking distance to shops and restaurants. Quite a pleasant little property. Our only complaint was a dirty hot tub and the pool isn't heated but we weren't there long enough for it to dampen our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la verne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We purchased a Groupon for this hotel and stayed there over Spring Break for 2 nights. The staff was very kind. The room was spacious, and very clean, newly renovated. Bathroom sparkling clean. Great small patio with ocean view (in distance). Great that each room has a nice sized small refrigerator and microwave. Upon checking in, we learned of the $2.95 breakfast deals at the restaurant on site and hoped to go, but never did. Great location as it is a very short walk to shops and GREAT restaurants (We love Nick's!). Todd Forester, the General Manager was super kind and friendly. He made sure our stay was great. And it was! We will stay here again and again, as we love to surf in San Clemente and Dana Point. Only draw back is that the air conditioning unit was an old wall unit and was loud. For the price we paid, and the great value we didn't mind it.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view with balcony on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Clemente

Address: 111 South Avenue de la Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Clemente
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Clemente 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 72 room full service hotel in historic San Clemente. Enjoy views of the Pacific Ocean or take a stroll through downtown past the shops and restaurants to San Clemente Pier or San Clemente Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Clemente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.