We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Clemente

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn San Clemente to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Clemente
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 South Avenue de la Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92673   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in San Clemente
812001
1 review
“Stinky room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just came back from a 2 night stay booked through a Groupon deal. Stayed in room 303 and when we first walked in room stunk. Opened sliding door and it seemed better after awhile so being that I was with 3 kids who were anxious to go out and explore I did not ask to change room. One of the kids in our group had a hard time falling to sleep because of the smell. Mentioned to the front desk the next morning and they did offer to move us but again since we were already unpacked and just 1 night left with kids raring to go we left out that day and asked them to look into it. We came back to a room that smelled from cleaning supplies and air freshener but that musty smell remained and we were again required to sleep with patio slider open.With a lot of outside noise from a bar one street over disturbing us.
Then today we had no newspaper and when I inquired at the desk was told" oops sorry we must have run out " Not a whole lot of customer service.
Would not reccomend this hotel and was very disapointed with condition of room and customer service.
Also be aware hotel is pet friendly and if you have a child like I do that is very allergic be prepared for dogs in elevators and possibly previously in your room. My daughter had to double up on her allergy medicine. Child that had difficulty sleeping because of the smell said it smelled like a wet dog
Also at night only 1 staff member and when we needed to changes sheets because 1 child threw up and dirtied her sheet slightly we were brought sheets but had to change the bed ourselves..

Room Tip: Saw previous reviews say ask for 3rd floor front for view but be careful about room 303. Also at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Clemente, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your response. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to make the corrections needed to keep our hotel the top rated hotel in San Clemente. We take great pride in delivering exceptional experience to all of our guests and feedback is a great tool to help us stay current on that promise. It is true that we are pet friendly and we do deep clean each room after a pet has visited. We have since done an additional deep clean as well as a shampoo of the carpet in room #303. We hope that you choose to give us another opportunity to become your hotel of choice, and appreciate you as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    41
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
56
57
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This Holiday Inn is in a great location, it's not ON the beach, as I pictured, it's a few blocks away but you can see the ocean. We purchased a two night Groupon that came with a jacuzzi suite. First, there is a whirlpool tub (in the middle of the room, it's odd) but its definitely NOT a suite. In fact, because it only comes with a king bed and there no rollaways or separate areas with a couch, my husband had to sleep on the floor while the kids and I slept on the bed. There was only ONE person working in the entire hotel the first night, so when our TV broke he had to leave the front desk to help us. He was VERY VERY nice though, and couldn't have been more accommodating.
There is NO FREE BREAKFAST, except that The kids eat free. There were too many little things to make us very comfortable, the pool is a too far from the lobby and You have to walk outside to get there. Overall it's just ok. Very average with issues for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Clemente, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear ElleWalters,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our and services are superior and we are truly delighted the level of service you received from our staff lived up to your expectations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Bought this deal on Groupon. Went with my daughter for a girls weekend. What a nice hotel. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Clean, beautiful rooms. Close to all. Restaurants within walking and so was boutique shopping. Beach was about 3/4 mile down street from all restaurants and shopping. Could walk everywhere. Nice location. Ocen view rooms were nice. I read that the ones on the back side face the freeway so they would be noisier with freeway traffic. Our room was ocean view, Dana point was just a 5 min. Drive away, but really a neat town to hang out it. Great hotel to stay at. Free parking and wifi too.

Room Tip: Oops no spa. Get the Ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ocean view from the third floor. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. This hotel is walking distance to many places to eat and to shops. There is a nice refrigerator and a microwave in the room as well as a couch. Ample room! Great place will return again as soon as I possibly can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

After living in San Clemente for many years, I returned for a visit. I was already familiar with the location of this Holiday Inn. I requested a 3rd floor with balcony and ocean view. I arrived quite late and was pleasantly surprised to find exactly what I had requested as well as a room that was clean and fresh ... remodeled just recently! The staff was more than helpful and courteous from beginning to end. Although you are a little bit of a walk to the beach .. the price of the room is very reasonable for ocean view and balcony. And you are walking distance to many great restaurants and San Clemente's downtown!!!! There was also a refrigerator and even a microwave in the room!! I could not have asked for a better stay!! And did I mention ... the weather was absolutely gorgeous .. usually the case in San Clemente!!!! I will definitely stay here on my next visit!!!

Room Tip: One side looks at the freeway ... the other side faces toward the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very friendly staff, check in took only 5 minutes. the room was absolutely beautiful with a nice patio overlooking downtown San Clemente and the ocean. the Jacuzzi tub was definitely a plus, and the best part was that it was located in the corner of the room which allowed you to see the view from the tub. The room was very spacious and clean. The hotel was in a great location, right off the freeway and walking distance to the beach and the pier. An amazing experience overall, definitely recommend for anyone trying to get away for a few days.

Room Tip: Any of the corner rooms with the Jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prenton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having worked as a Tour Manager for a holiday company, where I stay is important to me and San Clemente Holiday Inn has in no way disappointed me. Our room had a wonderful ocean view, jacuzzi and very comfortable bed. Nothing was too much trouble for the front of house Reception and everyone else employed here deserves a huge pat on the back .

This Holiday Inn is in a totally excellent position, has easy access to all local amenities, shops, transport, restaurants etc and above all the beautiful blue ocean. Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Third floor, with ocean view is the place to be!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Clemente

Address: 111 South Avenue de la Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Clemente
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Clemente 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 72 room full service hotel in historic San Clemente. Enjoy views of the Pacific Ocean or take a stroll through downtown past the shops and restaurants to San Clemente Pier or San Clemente Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Clemente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.