We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, clean, classy - H.I. San Clemente” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Clemente

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Clemente to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Clemente
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 South Avenue de la Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92673   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cozy, clean, classy - H.I. San Clemente”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We were visiting our son in this sweet little city of San Clemente and found it to be very comfortable and pleasant. It was a bit farther from our son's home than some other local hotels, but after having stayed at another establishment closer to him that we were not as happy with, the quality more than made up for the distance. The hotel staff was gracious and accomodating, the public areas very well maintained especially as this is an older hotel that could have been left to decline . . . but rather they have preserved the physical property as well as the essence of old-time customer service (increasingly rare, sadly). Little extras like fresh fruit at the reception desk, fine dining at the hotel restaurant, and always pleasant attitudes from all the staff make this hotel a cut above others in it's class. We look forward to many more happy times there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayInn90672, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Clemente, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel.
As you mentionned, we are all dedicated to deliver the best Guest service and help you to enjoy the best of San Clemente named by locals "the spanish village by the sea"
Our night shift still host the Guest apreciation night on Tuesday and Thursday each Guest get 2 complementary drinks from 5.30pm to 7.00pm.
We recentely updated our room with new nicely design desk chair and more update are on the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    55
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
69
63
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My son is stationed at Camp Pendleton I tried to find something nearby. But did I ever luck out or should I say I hit the JACKPOT. The entire staff was nothing but very polite and friendly. The rooms were very clean and up to date. The location was walking distance to many local shops and some really great restaurants and within 10 minutes of Camp Pendleton. I met some amazing people staying there and recommend it highly. What I liked the least was having to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Freeway access was great, since this was a work trip. For vacation, there are places closer to the ocean. Walking distance from great shops and places to eat.

The room was spacious and had lots of working area, not just room for me to walk around the bed. I liked having a useable desk and sofa, and the patio was equally nice - but offered little privacy.

One bight the neighbor turned out to be a couple boys getting drunk and loud, but it was soon quieted - so I give good marks for the management.

I didn't use the pool, but it looked ok, nothing special. I will be back to this place, and I'm happy my job will send me back to Cali again soon!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Holiday inn at San Clemente is like home away from home. The facility ivery clean. Todd the manager does mange the hotel very well. The staff do a wonderful job meeting all your needs.We have been going there x 3 yrs and look forward to getting out of the Az heat for a week. They have added a event, each evening they have a BBQ/Drinks. Its a nice touch. Thank byou Todd and staff for an enjoyable stay as always.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Calif
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel is backed up to I-5 and we were worried about the noise when we first saw it. Didn't hear a thing outside, has great insulation but were on the West side of the building in a jacuzzi room. I don't know if it makes any difference if you were on the back side. All the employees were exceptionally nice and helpful. Hotel was very clean and had a refrigerato and a microwave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in San Clemente many times in my in-law's condo and had stayed several times in the Holiday Inn Express on the north side of the city when our family needed additional lodging for famiy members. We just stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown San Clemente for the first time this week and were very pleased with the hotel which has an excellent location next to Avenida Del Mar which is the main street in the city. The staff was friendly and professional, especially the General Manager, Todd Forrester, who noticed that I was double-booked with the Holiday Inn and hotels.com. He called me and helped me resolve this matter before I may of been charged double for the first night of my stay. He was very courteous and called me again to confirm that I had resolved this issue a week before my stay. The room rates were very reasonable and we are looking foward to our next stay there in November.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Chose this hotel to be close to Pizza Port... a world-class brew pub with great pizza. That worked out well, and the hotel is close to Avenida Del Mar, which has lots of other restaurants and beach access. The hotel was adequate, but the room had an odd smell. So, if that sort of thing bothers you look for another place to stay. I found it tolerable this time... but next time I'll look for something else close by.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayInn90672, Manager at Holiday Inn San Clemente, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry and disapointed to read that we haven't been able to make your stay completely enjoyable. I asked our Housekeeping manager to investigate on the cause of this.
I would like to take this opportunity to mention that we are starting the last part of our remodeling, and we are curentely receiving new in room furniture which is going to get instelled with new carpet, wallpaper and total bathroom remodeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Clemente

Address: 111 South Avenue de la Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Clemente
#2 Family Hotel in San Clemente
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Clemente 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 72 room full service hotel in historic San Clemente. Enjoy views of the Pacific Ocean or take a stroll through downtown past the shops and restaurants to San Clemente Pier or San Clemente Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Clemente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.