We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST SALSA ON THE PLANET!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sugar Shack

The Sugar Shack
2319 South El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
949-498-0684
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 166 Restaurants in San Clemente
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“BEST SALSA ON THE PLANET!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My buddy turned me on to Rose's Sugar Shack years ago, when I first started surfing. They open early, so you can grab a hearty breakfast before paddling out in the morning. The staff treats you like family, and are always on top of the drink refills. I love everything on the menu, but I have to admit that I'm addicted to their homemade salsa! I just can't get enough of it, its SOOOOOOO GOOD! Indoor and outdoor seating is available, and in the summer, during peak hours, there might be a little bit of a wait because they're packed, but trust me ... good things come to those who wait! Just thinking of that yummy salsa makes we want to go there right now!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and very friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great place for a sit down breakfast. Good food, great prices, and service with a smile - what more can you ask for?

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu C
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bob & Carol had breakfast at the Sugar Shack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Delicious breakfast, excellent and very friendly and helpful staff from the time we entered until we left

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great folks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stopped on our way from San Diego just looking for a place to eat. It was about 1:30 in the afternoon but I was still able to get a great breakfast with corned beef hash and biscuits and gravy. Waitress was prompt with refills and information and the food delicious and plentiful. Hope to eat there again on my next drive up the coast.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Business breakfast enjoyed by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Met clients in San Clemente and even though I am from San Diego I picked the Sugar Shack. Always had great food, staff is awesome, but this was the first time I met clients there for a business meeting. In short turned out to be perfect. Food was great, relaxed atmosphere, good breakfast meeting. Can't beat it for breakfast I will be back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sugar Shack also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to The Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sugar Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.