We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well appointed room but lousy breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn San Clemente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn San Clemente to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 N El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-4696 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Clean and well appointed room but lousy breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our room was clean and neat and had everything we could want - free wifi, nice tv, microwave, refrigerator, ironing board and iron, hairdryer, extra blankets, etc. The room had been nicely updated. The bathroom was also very clean. I even liked the smell of the soap!

The one down side to staying here is the free breakfast which is almost non - existent. I'd say just skip that and pretend it's not offered by the hotel.

For $120 per night for a couple I was very happy. This whole area is expensive and for being at the low end, the hotel was great!

I took off 1 star for the poor breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-CRHOTEL, Manager at Rodeway Inn San Clemente, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Katie,

Thank you for your very honest review! Our goal is to provide a clean room for a good value for the area. I wish we could expand our breakfast, but our facility is not equipped for a larger breakfast. We provide: OJ, Coffee, Tea, Danishes, Bagels, Cereal Bars, Oatmeal & Apples/Oranges for our guests. Our facility is not permitted to have any open food items, hence our limited breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn San Clemente for your lodging needs and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Sheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
19
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glendale
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Rooms were clean, organized, loved the microwave and frig. Really helped to make it easy to bring leftovers back. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 10/25 to 11/6 on a business trip. We were on the 3rd floor, king bed. The room and bathroom looked like they had been recently renovated, and there were no issues with bugs, odors, etc. The room was quiet, the a/c worked well, the bed was comfortable, and the coffee maker and mini-fridge worked. We did not use the microwave. The rate was the best we could find for the area, and the staff we encountered were all very nice. As noted in other reviews, the breakfast choices are limited and there is no place in the lobby to sit and eat, but trays are provided to take breakfast back to the room. We will be returning to the area on business again, and we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: First floor has parking right in front of several rooms; it's better to be on the 2nd floor or h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. It's an older hotel, but well taken care of. I stayed on the lower floor right off of the road, El Camino Real. Noise was not an issue at all. It's a pretty quiet street at night and my sleep was never disrupted. The bed was very nice lots of pillows, clean sheets and towels. The only complaint I have is that there was a slight smell of cigarette smoke when I first walked into the room (common with older hotels). After turning on the A/C and circulating some air, it was not a problem for me. Plenty of parking while I was there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn San Clemente

Address: 1301 N El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-4696 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn San Clemente 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn San Clemente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.