We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Vintage Charmer"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Motel

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beachcomber Motel
533 Avenida Victoria, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in San Clemente
Buhl, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Vintage Charmer"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I love this place! The fantastic unobstructed ocean views from the huge picture window in the room, the beautifully mantained green grassy area with seating overlooking the beach, and the patio area with seating right outside the room are just three features making the Beachcomber such a special find. We also love the fully equipped vintage kitchen and the vintage tile in the shower which reminded me of my grandmothers place in 1960's LA. The location couldn't be any better as it's a nice walk to the beach, the pier, great restaurants and shopping. The sofa and chairs needed to be replaced, as well as the vanity in the bathroom, and parking is tight and limited; however, these negatives won't keep us from looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Almost 5 years after our first visit we returned for a 5 day stay in September 2011. Still the knock out view and we LOVE coming to SoCal from Chicago for R&R. Relatively quiet and peaceful location gave us time to recharge our batteries. But, sadly, nothing has been improved since our last visit. The rooms are very dated, bathroom was barely adequate (think KOA campground), furniture ready for the landfill. Overall, we were disappointed that the innkeepers haven't put anything into the property to keep it fresh and welcoming. It's not a cheap stay, either. Might still return in another 5 years but we can no longer give this little motel an enthusiastic thumbs up.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klgabay38, Manager at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We understand your concern totally and would like to say two things about this review (also it should cover other reviews as well).

As much as we wanted to, we couldn’t put hardly any money into the motel for 3 full years, and believe us, that bothered us more than you will ever know. It was out of our control.

Upgrades are being done now (but still keeping with the historical flavor of the motel), and we feel good about what we are doing. We think you would agree.

Come see.

John & Karen Gabay
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary for 2 nights in January 2012. The reason I have waited so long to give a review is because I couldn't think of a good way to voice my opinions. This is a fabulous property and has so much potential, but I can't give a good rating just for the view. I love quaint and old, but there is a limit to what I consider livable. The views are fantastic, and the grounds are kept up nicely. I thought the rate was fine for off-season, but high season was higher than I would pay for this hotel. The rooms leave quite a bit to be desired. The carpets are very dirty, but the rest of the room is as clean as can be expected, though really worn. (The bedspread is extremely used and faded, the fan blades were actually worn down to the cardboard, which gave us a laugh! ) My husband had a problem sleeping on the mattress, I did not, but I can usually sleep anywhere. The kitchen was equipped with every utensil you could ask for to prepare any kind of meal. The front picture window was sparkling clean to give you an unobstructed view. There were no bad smells or bugs or plumbing problems. I think if they updated some, tore out the carpets, bought a few new pieces of furniture it would be acceptable, but unfortunately for me, my husband refuses to come back. This is walking distance to the town and the train did not bother us at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klgabay38, Manager at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Just to let you know, unfortunately, you got here right before we started a restoration of the motel.

You are right that some things needed to be done. There were reasons beyond our control that prohibited us from completing the upgrades we wanted to for a period of time, but we started them in February of this year and are still doing them (except for during the summer so we don’t inconvenience our guests).

If you had come a year later, we are sure that your review would have been completely different.

John & Karen Gabay
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Beachcomber Motel is an older small motel but it sits on a cliff overlooking the Pacific and has the best view in San Clemente. They were in the process of doing upgrades on the rooms, while trying to keep the quaint integrity of the property. If you like ultra modern with all the bells and whistles, this is not your place. We spent only one day here, but sat in the lounges on the beautifully kept grounds and watched the surfers, dolphins playing just off shore and multitudes of various birds. They have a table on the lawn to play checkers (with colored sea shells), a gas grill if you want to cook something, and several areas of seating to view the sunset.

The staff were all very friendly and the room was clean, the kitchen well supplies with utensils. The bathroom was small and old fashioned in a cute way. Parking in San Clemente is a premium, so we left the car in the lot at the motel and walked to nearby restaurants. I will come back here for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUNNING SPRINGS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The view is the best in San Clemente! the staff was friendly and attentive. We just stayed there last night (3/29/2012) in room #4, a studio. The room was nicely furnished. The furniture was a bit worn, the bathroom a bit small, BUT, overall, it was very comfy, excellent view from the front patio as well as from inside. This place has everything, nice chairs out on the lawn, a barbecue, a fully equipped kitchen. We got the room at a special price, a lot less than you would expect to pay for a full ocean front property in So Cal.... We'll be back!

Room Tip: The rooms up at the top (southern end) of the property are one bedroom units, the rooms below the of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The location of this place is just beautiful, the grounds were keep very well. But it stoped there, our room was disgusting #8. It really needs updating. Bathroom very small,not a shelf in shower or out side in bathroom, no where to put your stuff. Our blanket on bed had rips in them, the couch was dirty and felt it. The rug was SO dirty, you couldn't go barefoot. It really was a shame because you look out your window and all you see is ocean, and the sunset. As much as I liked the setting, I don't know if I would go back and stay there. If your at all fussy, it's not the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klgabay38, Manager at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Sorry we didn’t respond sooner, but we now are doing many upgrades, being careful not to disrupt the historical feeling of the motel.

We will add more shelves in the bathroom as we go through the rooms.

The problem was that we couldn’t put carpets in and many other things we wanted to do (for quite some time) for reasons out of our control. Since them many floor coverings have been replaced along with many other improvements. Things are definitely getting better now.

John & Karen Gabay
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Such a peaceful place to stay. The rooms are just okay but I'm sitting on the porch looking out over the ocean and too relaxed and at peace to care about much of anything. Life is good.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Address: 533 Avenida Victoria, San Clemente, CA 92672
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Beachcomber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel San Clemente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.