We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've had better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Mariachi

El Mariachi
1925 El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
(949) 369-5111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 185 Restaurants in San Clemente
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Placentia, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I've had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband loved the food there. I didn't. The enchiladas were awful. If we go again I will definitely order something else. In my opinion they are overpriced for what you get and the service wasn't great either.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“worth trying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

passed by so many times and today we went in. beautiful inside, able to watch sports, awesome food. a bit pricey but worth it

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SALSA!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I am a breakfast fiend, theirs is really yummy and omg the salsa is so amazing. I ordered a 16oz to go! It was pricey for salsa but amazing. They make their own tortillas on Tuesday for taco tuesday, can't beat that (like Old Town in SD!) Yummy yummy, I am ready to go back!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have been here several times, vacation in San Clemente several times a year. Food consistently good, Good service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“My favorite Mexican Food in San Clemente”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I think they do the best job with Sit Down Mexican Food in the town.
Ourfavorites are:
My Daughter - the Flautas
My son - Chingalingas
My Favorite - The Steak Fajitas
My wife and her Mom - The Margarita

Their refried beans are also very good..No all beans are not equal!

Mexican/Surf Decore. True Southern California Feeling!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mariachi also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to El Mariachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mariachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.