We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you go don't expect great service but the mussels are divine!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sundried Tomato

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sundried Tomato
821 Via Suerte, Ste 101, San Clemente, CA 92673
949-388-5757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sundried Tomato is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 185 Restaurants in San Clemente
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Vista Hermosa
Description: Upbeat California cuisine, served in a smart casual environment. the restaurant has a long and creative wine list, at reasonable pricing. Black and white photos of Hollywood gone by adorn the walls while jazz and aromas of garlic waft through the air.
Aliso Viejo, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“if you go don't expect great service but the mussels are divine!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Went there after a round of golf at Talega across the street. Clubhouse was closed for dining but we were told to bring our scorecard to Sundried Tomato Cafe and we could enjoy 2 for 1 drinks. When we got to cafe we realized we had forgotten to grab our scorecard, but heck we were wearing our sweaty golf clothes, visors with ball markers, had white golf feet and mentioned that we had finished a round of golf and were told to come over to STC. We were told that they would not honor the special without our actual scorecards. We didn't make a fuss and stayed, but I must say that in a service based business I find that kind of response highly unusual. Why not wow your customers, make them feel special and just say "no problem." Wouldn't you want us coming back again in the future? Sat at the bar, staff was not friendly. We got the impression that they were absolutely miserable working there and passed that along to everyone they came into contact with. Kudos to the chef - the mussels in saffron cream with pancetta were AMAZING! If you do decide to eat there, order those mussels!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I wont go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Rude and snooty.
Not accomodating and mediocre food.
Don't waste your money
They have all kinds of rules about where you sit when you are at happy hour
They do not understand that the CUSTOMER is always right!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fun atmosphere....good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a great place to go for happy hour. It's busy on a Friday night but it has a un atmosphere, good drinks, and yummy food. Our waitress was just ok. We split the friend asparagus before dinner. I had the tomato soup and chopped salad for dinner and my husband had pasta. Both were great and came with a delicious assortment of breads.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Uneven performance every time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is my 5th or 6th time at SDT in San Clemente. It is uneven in terms of food quality AND serivce.
Happy hour is popular, with discounted prices on beverages and on selected appitizers. Some are quite good - the kobi burger, the tomato soup & grilled cheese, to name 2, but most of the others are non-descript. Monday nights offer a 2-course dinner for $15. Again, some good dishes, like the chicken, and others not so good.
Servers are always nice, but not always efficient.
There is a nice outdoor patio and lots of parking.
To sum up, SDT is a good place to get a cheap drink or glass of wine, but buyer be(a)ware when it comes to food. Most of the folks in there are regulars - ask them what's good when you get there :)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really Good Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have eaten here a few times but this last week was excellent. Pasta was tasty as was my wifes' steak. The kitchen makes a made to order pasta for our kids (they should put it on the menu).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundried Tomato also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Sundried Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundried Tomato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.