We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that caters to your needs.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Clemente Inn (VRI)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Clemente Inn (VRI) to your Saves list
San Clemente Inn (VRI)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Avenida Del Presidente, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
1 review
“A hotel that caters to your needs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is right by the ocean. The rooms are spacious and the staff is friendly. A very home-like experience. Great location and wonderful service. Especially during the holiday season, the hotel is highly decorated.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    67
    39
    15
    16
See reviews for
94
46
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

San Clemente Inn has been a life saver for myself and family. My house flooded and I needed a hotel room for a month and two weeks. This hotel was absolutely accommodating to all my families needs. The HOTEL STAFF IS WONDERFUL, THE BEST EVER. Especially Suzanne and Frankie. The housecleaning staff is wonderful as well. There is a fully stocked kitchen with dishes, pots, and pans. A stove a microwave and a fridge. A separate bedroom and two other beds in another room. There is a nice private patio. Two T.V.'s. I will always recommend this hotel because it is the best. It has the nicest pool, jacuzzi, and game rooms. It has been a great home away from home. I can not thank the staff enough for helping me through such a difficult time. Suzanne was the best, she always made time to ask me how things were going, and ask me if I needed anything. Suzanne is the best hotel desk clerk in the business, thank you Suzanne!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, but the rooms in the back are close to the State Park, I believe the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I found the rooms to be dark and a little damp. The bed in this room was a murphy, kind of weird.
Suite style room. Best part of staying here was that it was in waking distance to the OC Tavern.
A couple of shady people lurking around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent a week here and found the staff friendly and helpful. As you will read in other reviews, the property is older. We are a family of four and had the largest room (one bedroom) the property offers - a single bedroom, two Murphy beds for the kids, and one and a half baths (the kids had their own bath with sink, but we all shared the one shower in the master bath.) However, we found the rooms spacious enough that we left the Murphy beds down the entire length of our stay and had plenty of room left over to eat and use the living area.

Very convenient location right off the freeway and about a 30 minute drive to Disneyland (and on California freeways, that's GOOD travel time!) Went up to Hollywood one day and enjoyed a number of attractions in that area. A short drive down to the beach where we saw some spectacular sunsets.

Room Tip: Get the largest room possible if you are able for a more enjoyable experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, CA, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great first impression at our check in. She was very courteous, welcoming and informative. The grounds are pretty and well maintained. The furniture is a bit dated but was clean and comfortable. It is an older property and smells musty. We got a room that looked out at the grassy, garden area and it was quiet and pretty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We had planned to go to Virginia Beach but changed plans when we heard of a hurricane coming, Southern Cal. Seemed like a good alternative and we were quite pleased.

At this hotel (a timeshare property), you should not expect ultra modern. I understand it was constructed as a hotel during the Nixon presidency when it was needed to house the entourage that followed Nixon when the "Western White House" was occupied. It still shows remnants of the 60's construction. This did not bother us. Kithen cabinets abd all fixtures and appliances have been updated. We stayed in a one bedroom unit for a very reasonable price(off season)". The layout was unusual with a very small bedroom but plenty of closet space. We had a third floor unit with a distant ocean view and a view of the sunsets. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. The grounds and common areas are well maintained. I had no problems with the wi-fi which I often do when staying at hotels. There is a nice west facing balcony which could be better furnished. If I return to southern Cal., I will stay here again.

If you stay here, be sure to request the back building overlooking San Clemente State Park (just a green unmaintained conservation area) and request an upper floor with a distant ocean view. You don't want the front building which just looks at the back building.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently spent a week at San Clemente Inn and enjoyed the great weather and proximity to ocean, restaurants and nearness to both LA and SD.

Problem was the unit seemed dark, worn and tired. Furniture and carpet were needed cleaning badly. Grounds are next to SC State Park and walking distance to beach which save it from being a total loss.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Clemente Inn (VRI)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Clemente Inn (VRI)

Address: 2600 Avenida Del Presidente, San Clemente, CA 92672
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Clemente Inn (VRI) 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your San Clemente Inn (VRI) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Clemente Inn (Vri) Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Hotel
Hotel San Clemente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Clemente Inn (VRI), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.